2 by 2 [Expanded Edition]

2 by 2 [Expanded Edition]

by Blue Zoo


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


2 by 2 [Expanded Edition]

Blue Zoo's stylistic smorgasbord on Two by Two is an acquired taste. Anybody who purchases the LP because of the hyper "Cry Boy Cry" should not expect to hear another song like it on the album; similarly, the moody ballad "Love Moves in Strange Ways" would sound out of place if the rest of Two by Two isn't so wildly eclectic. Even Andy O's voice is unpredictable, veering from high-pitched shrieking to mournful crooning. Nevertheless, this is a surprisingly cohesive experiment in unrestrained genre shifting; Blue Zoo ecstatically leap from glum balladry to funk to minimalist punk rock and actually concoct absorbing, colorful pop that hooks listeners while bewildering them. "Love Moves in Strange Ways," with its tumbling percussion, eerie synths, spiky acoustic riffs, and O's heart-rending wailing, is an undiscovered classic. The simple, straightforward lyrics in the track vividly illustrate a romantic relationship shattering; the raw emotion in Andy O's voice when he bellows "Why are you leaving me?" is startling. From the sleazy disco of "I'm Your Man" to the Wire-like skeletal arrangements and sinister half-spoken, half-sung dialogue of "Open Up," this album has the variety of a well-selected mix tape. For those brave enough to digest Blue Zoo's fickle tastes, Two by Two is a bracing adventure.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/2013
Label: Cherry Pop
UPC: 5013929433588
catalogNumber: 2943358
Rank: 104633


  1. Far Cry
  2. John's Lost
  3. Cry Boy Cry
  4. Chameleon Waves
  5. In Love In Life
  6. Love Moves In Strange Ways
  7. I'm Your Man
  8. Don't Walk Away
  9. Loved One's An Angel
  10. Something Familier
  11. These Days
  12. Somewhere in the World
  13. Off to Market
  14. Shine
  15. Fate
  16. (You Can) Count On Me
  17. Can't Hold Me Down
  18. Open Up
  19. Forgive and Forget

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blue Zoo   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews