212 (Ellie Hatcher Series #3)

212 (Ellie Hatcher Series #3)

by Alafair Burke
3.9 527

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 29 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

212 (Ellie Hatcher Series #3) by Alafair Burke

“The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn’t just rip from the headlines. She’s one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours.”
—Harlan Coben

“Burke has created a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone.… Utterly authentic.”
Boston Globe

212 is acclaimed author—and former deputy district attorney—Alafair Burke’s gripping thriller featuring hip, Manhattan-based detective Ellie Hatcher. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy will find it hard to put 212 down until the very last page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061561320
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/07/2011
Series: Ellie Hatcher Series , #3
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 244,685
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Alafair Burke is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels include the standalone thrillers The Ex, Long Gone and If You Were Here, and the Ellie Hatcher series: All Day and a Night, Never Tell, 212, Angel’s Tip, and Dead Connection. She is also the coauthor of the Under Suspicion series with Mary Higgins Clark. A former prosecutor, she is now a professor of criminal law and lives in Manhattan.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

212 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 528 reviews.
idigforyou More than 1 year ago
This book was an excellant read. I enjoyed it very much. I had a hard time putting it down and read it in 2 days.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It has a story I couldn't put down.
HunterAZ More than 1 year ago
James Lee Burke is arguably one of the best authors of all time. I opted to read his daughter's offering in hopes that she would possess some of her Dad's talent. I was not disappointed. She has a completely different style, but has the same quality of character development and plot originality. James should be proud.
jenforbus More than 1 year ago
Ellie Hatcher is back with a vengeance. A vengeance that lands her butt squarely in jail. Smart, independent Ellie Hatcher proves to the world everyday that she's far more than a pretty face. She can "bring home the bacon and fry it up in a pan." She juggles her job, her older brother Jess, Assistant District Attorney Max Donovan, even her mother back in Wichita. And while she may not be as hip as her brother would like, she still manages to do it all with panache. Burke's work is the epitome of art imitating life. Her plot lines are "ripped from the headlines;" the characters and dialogue are infused with pop culture; and she brings to life the New York City she so loves. 212 has no shortage of Burke's signature wit, which often comes out in her crisp, commanding dialogue. Ellie's exchanges with both her brother Jess and her partner J.J. could walk off the pages they are so believable. Burke's strengths are numerous, but her dialogue is quite possibly my favorite. It is clear, it's sharp, it's witty. When a reader believes the dialogue, he/she believes the characters delivering it. For my money, no one does this better than Alafair Burke. The complexity of 212's plot is carefully balanced. Burke peals back layer after layer, creating numerous unexpected twists throughout the book. But the twists never go over the top, nor do they become too numerous for belief. Instead the keep the reader gripped to the pages. I tried to slowly savor this book, but the plot simply wouldn't let me. In addition, the plot of 212, like each of Burke's previous novels, reflects current events. But more than that, it examines some hefty "why" questions that are floating around these current events as well. And whenever Burke addresses a "why" question in her writing, she illustrates that the answer to that question is never a basic one, like so many people want to make it out to be. Afterall, it's humanity she's addressing, and humanity is certainly never basic. In 212, Burke takes a 348 page back swing allowing her to masterfully stroke her theme straight down the fairway and sink a hole-in-one on the final page. It's a monumental ending, one that won't quickly leave your thoughts. I waited over a year for Ellie Hatcher to return to action, and 212 was worth every minute of that wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alafair Burke has once again given us great reading. Having read each of her books, I was not disappointed by this one. Am looking forward to her next book.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
What a thrilling ride to take that kept the pages turning to see who was the killer. Three people murdered who seemingly have no connection until Ellie and Rogan worked the puzzle and the pieces fell into place. When the dust was settled, many lives were destroyed in the name of love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my Memorial Day weekend read and I was not disappointed. The story had plenty of twists and turns that made me want to keep reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im glad it was a free friday book. I normally dont read mysteries but this was an interesting, easy, fast paced read. Will def be checking out the seires.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book was an easy read. Really liked and am planning on buying more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt really get into it. Tried restarting again and again but it didnt draw me in. Too much police stuff not really pertaining to the book. Try again Burke, but with more of a story, not a documentary.
RandiDW More than 1 year ago
100 pages shy of finishing...not invested in story line, and not enough character development
AngelShep More than 1 year ago
A quick read. Various plot twists and turns. The characters weren't particularly memorable nor was the plot.
SueMacP More than 1 year ago
212 was a good book. it was easy to follow the characters but not to guess "whodunit" before the end. I look forward to reading more from Alafair Burke!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quuck read with many twists and turns-some predictable,others not•
KenCady More than 1 year ago
Would a really good thriller based in New York telegraph the name of the killer 100 pages before his identity was actually revealed? 100 pages early I knew who the killer was. When we finally got to the resolution of the case, I was surprised at how ludicrous things were turning out to be. Alafair Burke seemed to want to throw everything in but the kitchen sink. The story, as it turned out, was so incredible that one wonders why the author didn't make an effort to be more realistic. The final pages are more of a National Enquirer index of stories than any real resolution of a crime thriller. 212 is for authentic New Yorkers, 646 for the wannabes! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another "average" cop mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointingly shallow. I always give a book 75 - 100 pages before I dump it. This barely made the first cut. The characters aren't developed. Sort of reminds me of reading a People magazine. I'm glad it was a free book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a free Friday selecton that really panned out. Well worth the time. Good character development, great plot and entertaining for any mystery/police procedure reader. Now I have to purchase the other books in the series! Highly reccommend.
robinzhere More than 1 year ago
A NY-based detective thriller with more twists and turns than you can count. Fun read for the beach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Havent read a suspensed mystery in a while and thought it would be a relief to start reading a different genre, I read this book and couldnt put it down till I was done! A little slow in some parts but overall a great book. I would recommend this book for 16+. It wasnt that hard a read. 364 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was bored and quit reading after about twenty pages
MaggzD More than 1 year ago
212, NYC's area code & also the name of a building of condos. A real estate tycoon, Sam Sparks, owns the building and keeps a penthouse unit for visiting businessmen or as a reward to an employee. An employee is murdered in this penthouse. Who dunnit? Three young women are murdered in a short span of time, and all three are connected in one way or another. Are all these murders connected? If so, how? Someone is hiding a secret, or are there more people hiding secrets. Detective Ellie Hatcher is on the case to untangle the the webs woven by Sam Sparks, his employees, and a former cop. I found this book to be riveting. Some sexual innuendo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised. The description had me wondering and the first few chapters were tough to get through but I am glad I got introduced to this book and author via free fridays. I would read more books by this author. Not five stars because I wont go out of my way to find them or pay much for them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of turns fo keep you reading and thinkig