4 Against the Wall

4 Against the Wall


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Four poets, four voices. 4 Against the Wall is a collection of poems from four poets living in Lansing, Michigan, but their voices speak well past the city boundaries. Their work, both together and separately, spans several decades in a city that is simultaneously factory town, university town, state capitol-and, over the years, both a hothouse and sanctuary for poetry.

This unique collection showcases not only the recent work of Zachary Chartkoff, Sam Mills, Robert Rentschler and Ruelaine Stokes, but also a spirited round table discussion of the state of poetry-and oft-times remarkable poetry scene in Lansing-that they have witnessed over three decades.

The poems in this book have delighted audiences for years. This is the first time they have appeared together in print. Foreword by poet F. Richard Thomas, author of Death at Camp Pahoka (MSU Press) and Frog Praises Night (SIU Press).
Photographs by Roxanne Firth.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780595370597
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 10/28/2005
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews