50th Anniversary: The Singles Collection 1961-1971

50th Anniversary: The Singles Collection 1961-1971

by The TemptationsThe Temptations




The Temptations were the greatest of the Motown groups, and for a label that also had the Four Tops and the Supremes, that's really saying something. Blessed with a succession of great singers like Eddie Kendricks, David Ruffin, and Dennis Edwards, any of whom could have easily fronted their own group, the Temptations racked up countless hits between 1961 and 1971, helped immeasurably by Motown's astounding songwriting stable. Songs like "The Way You Do the Things You Do," "Since I Lost My Baby," "Get Ready," "Ain't Too Pround to Beg," "(I Know) I'm Losing You," "I Wish It Would Rain," "Cloud Nine," "I Can't Get Next to You," "Psychedelic Shack," and "Ball of Confusion (That's What the World Is Today)" are enduring classics that still sound fresh and vital all these years later. This lavish box set, released to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Temptations' first single in 1961, collects all of the group's singles from Motown Records between then and 1971 on three discs, and it's an amazing legacy, with classic song after classic song rolling by one after the other, the essential playlist of one of the greatest singing groups in the history of pop.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2011
Label: Motown
UPC: 0602527788777
catalogNumber: 001594202


Disc 1

  1. Oh, Mother Of Mine
  2. Romance Without Finance
  3. Check Yourself
  4. Your Wonderful Love
  5. (You're My) Dream Come True
  6. Isn't She Pretty
  7. Mind Over Matter (I'm Gonna Make You Mine)
  8. I'll Love You 'Til I Die
  9. Paradise
  10. Slow Down Heart
  11. I Want A Love I Can See
  12. The Further You Look, The Less You See
  13. Farewell My Love
  14. May I Have This Dance
  15. Way You Do The Things You Do
  16. Just Let Me Know
  17. I'll Be In Trouble
  18. The Girl's Alright With Me
  19. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
  20. Baby, Baby I Need You
  21. My Girl
  22. (Talkin' 'Bout) Nobody But My Baby
  23. It's Growing
  24. What Love Has Joined Together
  25. Since I Lost My Baby
  26. You've Got To Earn It
  27. My Baby
  28. Don't Look Back

Disc 2

  1. Get Ready
  2. Fading Away
  3. Ain't Too Proud To Beg
  4. You'll Lose A Precious Love
  5. Beauty Is Only Skin Deep
  6. You're Not An Ordinary Girl
  7. (I Know) I'm Losing You
  8. I Couldn't Cry If I Wanted To
  9. All I Need
  10. Sorry Is A Sorry Word
  11. You're My Everything
  12. I've Been Good To You
  13. (Loneliness Made Me Realize) It's You That I Need
  14. Don't Send Me Away
  15. I Wish It Would Rain
  16. I Truly, Truly Believe
  17. I Truly, Truly Believe
  18. I Could Never Love Another (After Loving You)
  19. Gonna Give Her All The Love I've Got
  20. Please Return Your Love To Me
  21. How Can I Forget
  22. Cloud Nine
  23. Why Did She Have To Leave Me (Why Did She Have To Go)
  24. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
  25. A Place In The Sun
  26. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  27. Silent Night, Holy Night

Disc 3

  1. Runaway Child, Running Wild
  2. I Need Your Lovin'
  3. I'll Try Something New
  4. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  5. Don't Let The Joneses Get You Down
  6. Since I've Lost You
  7. I Can't Get Next To You
  8. Running Away (Ain't Gonna Help You)
  9. The Weight
  10. For Better Or Worse
  11. Psychedelic Shack
  12. That's The Way Love Is
  13. Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)
  14. It's Summer
  15. Ungena Za Ulimwengu (Unite The World)
  16. Hum Along And Dance
  17. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
  18. You Make Your Own Heaven And Hell Right Here On Earth
  19. It's Summer
  20. I'm The Exception To The Rule
  21. Mein Girl
  22. Blue Bird
  23. Solamente Lei
  24. Sei Solo Tu

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Temptations   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Robbie Robertson   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer,Producer
Andre Williams   Producer
Otis Williams   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
R. Dean Taylor   Composer
Joe Hinton   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Nick Ashford   Producer
Tom Baird   Arranger
Henry Cosby   Producer
Hal Davis   Producer
Paolo Dossena   Composer
Melvin Franklin   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Berry Gordy   Composer,Producer,Overdub Producer
George Gordy   Composer
Cornelius Grant   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Ivy Jo Hunter   Composer,Producer
Eddie Kendricks   Composer
Jerry Long   Arranger,Orchestra Director
Johnny Marks   Composer
Ronald Dean Miller   Composer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Clarence Paul   Composer,Producer
Frank Robertson   Producer
Pam Sawyer   Composer
Willie Shorter   Arranger
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer,Producer
David Van De Pitte   Orchestra Director
Harry Weinger   Track Annotations,Essay
Norman Whitfield   Composer,Producer
Bobby Rogers   Composer
Bill Dahl   Author
Allen Story   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Marvin Tarplin   Composer
Frank Wilson   Composer,Producer
Ronald White   Composer,Producer
Robert Rogers   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
Janie Bradford   Composer
Gunter Loose   Composer
Bryan Wells   Composer
Jeff Smith   Art Direction
Roger Penzabene   Composer
Michele Horie   Producer,Art Direction
Quattrocchi   Art Direction
Werner Scharfenberger   Composer
Fini Busch   Composer
Keith Hughes   Author
Devora Brown   Composer
Jo Almeida   Photo Coordination
Peter Ricci   Overdub Producer
Andrew Skurrow   Tape Vault Research
Sujata Murthy   Publicity
Margaret Johnson   Composer
Elbridge Bryant   Composer
Dre-Mic   Producer
Marc Gordon   Producer
Jerry Ross   Composer

Customer Reviews