68 & Climbing

68 & Climbing

by Kate Douglas
3.3 11

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

68 & Climbing by Kate Douglas

A reissue of one of Kate Douglas's most memorable contemporary romances will appeal to fans of Susan Andersen and Susan Mallery.

Fashion designer Annmarie Weston is working under one of the tightest and most important deadlines of her career. Just when she gets her staff sewing at the perfect pace, a construction crew moves in to remodel the building next door, distracting her girls with their hunky bodies. The worse part is that every time the temperature rises, the guys take their shirts off and pretty soon even Annmarie gets lured into the enticing view. . . .

Determined to put an end to the distraction, Annmarie confronts contractor Nick Marone and it isn't long before the two are spending way too much time locked in each other's arms, taking them both away from what they should really be doing.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013112209
Publisher: Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date: 08/16/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 191 KB

About the Author

Kate Douglas is the author of the popular erotic paranormal romance series Wolf Tales and Demon Lovers, the erotic SF series Dream Catchers and StarQuest, as well as the DemonSlayers series. She is currently writing the next book in the Spirit Wild series.

Kate and her husband of over forty years have two adult children and six grandchildren. They live in the beautiful wine country of Sonoma County, California, in the little town of Healdsburg.

Write to Kate at . She answers all her email. You can also find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/katedouglas.authorpage and occasionally on twitter as @wolftales.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

68 & Climbing 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
CrystalMarie218 More than 1 year ago
I wasn’t sure how much I would enjoy this book when I started it because even though I am a fan of Ms. Douglas’ work, I have mainly read her paranormal books. I did end up enjoying this story more than I thought that I would, but I still felt like something was missing I believe. The characters were well written, it was very easy to follow along with the story as well. It was a very fast paced story that I was able to finish reading in a couple hours. While the characters were well written, I didn’t personally feel a connection to them while reading. It didn’t deter me from enjoying the story, but I was just missing that connection. There is some sex that takes place, but as with typical Ms. Douglas fashion, it’s not overplayed or written crudely at all. It did add to the story, so I thought that was a very good thing. Overall, I do think that this is a really good rainy day read, one that if you are looking for a good read that you can enjoy without any extra drama that takes place in a lot of books out there these days. Reviewed by Crystal Marie for Crystal’s Many Reviewers *Copy provided for review*
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless More than 1 year ago
Sexy, fun, flirty, quirkier. I like it but was not completely bowled over by the content. It took me way to long to read this short read (<200 pages). Annmarie seems to be more of a snob than a business woman. There are some inconsistencies in her character. Nick, well what can I really say. There is apparent chemistry between the two. Up to the point that they are unable to keep their hands to them selves and do their jobs. That is where one draws the line. Douglas has pieced together various phrasings that don't quite connect to the genre in the writing or the description of the writing contained within. I still enjoyed the read for what it was. Thanks, NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have mixed feelings about this book. It wasn't horrible but it wasn't great either. It was an extremely dated, unrealistic, corny and fast read that had me laughing and rolling my eyes. This was one of those books that you sort of enjoy for all the wrong reasons.  "68 & Climbing" could have been better. But unfortunately the book has a few issues which ruined it for me. The writing style is the biggest problem. Because of the dialog and they way Annmarie behaves, she comes across much older and deceivingly prudish. Being perfectly honest I never got behind her as a character because the way she was written just made me not like her. I didn't have any problems with Nick as a character.... (Excluding the fact that he managed to fall in love in less than a nano second.) And I liked the fact that Nick was more of a Neanderthal leading man. What did bother me was the way the author described him from Annmarie's perspective. 
ravenwolf_EPTX More than 1 year ago
*** Provided by NetGalley for an honest review *** Annmarie Weston founded Weston Designs, creating business attire. She has orders to fill but it's hard to keep her seamstresses on track with half-naked construction workers remodeling the building next door. She's determined to succeed on her own, without the help of her family, and she cannot afford any distractions as her biggest to-date contract's deadline is fast approaching. Nick Marone's working on a restoration next to Weston Designs & from the day he bid on the job, he'd been intrigued by Annmarie. But he learns she comes from old money & that's one social circle he never wants to find himself in again.  ---------------------------------------------------------------------- This story is unique in that until Chapter 5, the primary characters are not officially introduced to one another. They've only seen, watched, and even fantasized about one another prior to then.  My biggest complaint:  Throughout the book, the prevailing complaint is that Annmarie cannot seem to keep her girls focused on working on this big, upcoming order due to the distraction provided by the half-naked construction crew next door. My thoughts were immediate: 1) Remind them that there are other people who'd be happy to take their place and earn their paycheck. 2) Install window coverings -and- 3) Work 3rd shift, so there are no exterior distractions. For a woman struggling to succeed, she's not putting 110% into being an assertive supervisor/boss. That said, the book is well-written. The characters (primary and secondary) are thoroughly enjoyable. The plot was light, with liberal dashes of humor. It was a pleasure to read even as short as it was.
bookaholicGE More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book Annmarie is an up and coming stylist trying to stay focused on her career so she can get that one big break. Nick is a hardworking man who started from the bottom and went right to the top. With her staying focused and him guarding his heart they go on an up and down roller coaster that I enjoyed every second of. Annmarie and Nick are like a moth to a flame. You know you should stay away but you just keep going back risking getting burned. I love how you get a glimpse at the different relationships going on in the book. From the happily in love to the stay away but maybe come back because I will miss you kind of love. For people that read the book saying that you couldn't get pass the first few pages you had to get past those pages so that you can enjoy a great story. I have never read a Kate Douglass book so I didn't know what to expect but I kept going and boom I could not put it down. I finished the book in one day. Not because it was short but because it was SUPER HOT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story. Annmarie doesn't make you love her until you get into the story a bit, she's warming you up..but when she finally meets her building god...couldn't put the nook down!!! Love Kate Douglas...I have NEVER come across a story of hers that I didn't love and get into
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The epilogue was mildly funny so I tried to continue reading but failed. Annmarie isn't a very likeable character. I didn't make it past the first few pages of the first chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*gives her rasberry leaves and tansy and starts licking the kits* their beautiful *gives them to her*