by Shonen Knife

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Most North American fans were introduced to the ladies of Shonen Knife via the cryptically titled 712 (1991). They even toured the effort, opening up for a then-unknown Nirvana. Actually, the numeric insignia was derived by taking a contraction of seven (nana), one (ichi), and two (futatu) to create the "na-i-fu," the Japanese word for knife. The material immediately unleashes the band's tongue-in-cheek sincerity and prankster attitude on "Shonen Knife," which commences with the herald "Good morning, Shonen Knife freaks..." and dives into a repetitive four-on-the-floor sample of E.L.O.'s "Don't Bring Me Down." The following off-kilter Dadaist rap hails the arrival of this, their latest record, before reeling off a litany of their favorite musicians: "Nick Lowe, Costello, Beatles/Redd Kross, Ramones, Buzzcocks", then proudly proclaiming "Shonen Knife is a cult band!" Couched within the Gen X anthem and garage façade of "Lazybone" is the band's understated penchant for catchy choruses and power pop melodies. They are perfectly matched to guest Atsushi Shibata's forceful guitar solo. Among the other social observations are an extolling of weight loss on "Diet Run," a surreal ballad to a breakfast cereal during "Fruit Loop Dreams," as well as paeans to White Flag and Redd Kross. The latter were enthusiasts of the band, giving them positive feedback in the press. The cover of the Beatles' "Rain" sticks pretty close to the original, with guest drummer Victor Indrizzo (drums) going so far as to replicating Ringo Starr's drum fills beat-for-beat. Even more striking is their take on John Lennon's "The Luck of the Irish" featuring Redd Kross's Jeff McDonald on lead vocals that nail Lennon's weary inflections. 712 is a recommended starting point for those wishing to indulge themselves in some whimsical and thoroughly unpretentious rock & roll.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2005
Label: Oglio Records
UPC: 0790058161128
catalogNumber: 81611

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shonen Knife   Primary Artist
Victor Indrizzo   Drums
Jeff McDonald   Vocals,Background Vocals
Steven McDonald   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Michie Nakatani   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Atsuko Yamano   Drums,Background Vocals,Group Member
Naoko Yamano   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Pat Fear   Guitar,Background Vocals
Dave Landry   Bass,Recorder
Atsushi Shibata   Guitar
Noboru Yamada   Saxophone
Dave Landry   Bass Guitar,Recorder
Steve Davis   Bass,Bass Guitar,Fuzz Bass

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Yoko Ono   Composer
Shonen Knife   Producer
Michie Nakatani   Composer,Cover Art
Naoko Yamano   Composer
Ohji Hayashi   Engineer
Bill Goffrier   Composer
Gary Waleik   Composer
Kohji Sakaguchi   Engineer
Yumiko Okada   Art Direction
Shin Hirakawa   Executive Producer
Steve Davis   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews