A Cappella

A Cappella

by Robert Shaw Festival Singers
5.0 1


$15.39 $17.99 Save 14% Current price is $15.39, Original price is $17.99. You Save 14%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


A Cappella

This 2005 compilation draws on ten previous Telarc albums by Robert Shaw, the Robert Shaw Festival Singers, and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus, and highlights a cappella performances from the esteemed conductor's last decade. Since the program is largely sacred in nature, the album's tone is reverent and placid, with little contrast. "Dieu! qu'il la fait bon regarder!" by Debussy, "Waldesnacht, Op. 62/3," and "Abendständchen, Op. 42/1," by Brahms provide a brief secular interlude, but their gentle madrigal quality is not too far removed from the soft murmuring of most of the religious works, and not enough of a change in mood or expression. The jubilant chorus "Vzbrannoy Voyevode" from Rachmaninov's "Vespers," three traditional spirituals, and "In a Garden Shady" by Britten are the liveliest selections, and Shaw and his ensemble lend them a buoyancy and vitality that are welcome and necessary to balance out the album. The somber liturgical works, such as "O vos omnes" by Victoria, "A New Commandment" by Tallis, Kopylov's "Heavenly Light," and the closing tracks, Verdi's "Ave Maria," Pärt's "Magnificat," and Martin's "Kyrie," give this CD its strong devotional character, but limit its usefulness as a sampler. Telarc's sound quality is full and resonant.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2005
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408065620
catalogNumber: 80656
Rank: 14014


  1. O vos omnes, qui transitis per viam, motet for 4 voices
  2. A new commandment, anthem for 4 voices
  3. Quatre motets pour un temps de pénitence, for chorus, FP 97: Vinea mea electa
  4. Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël, for chorus, FP 152: Videntes stellam
  5. Chansons de Charles d'Orléans (3), song cycle for chorus, L. 92: Dieu!...qu'il la fait bon regarder!
  6. Waldesnacht ("Waldesnacht, du wunderkühle"), for chorus, Op. 62/3
  7. Abendständchen ("Hör, es klagt die Flöte wieder"), for chorus, Op. 42/1
  8. Heavenly Light
  9. Vespers (All-Night Vigil), for alto, tenor & chorus, Op. 37: Svete Tikyi (O Serene Light)
  10. Vespers (All-Night Vigil), for alto, tenor & chorus, Op. 37: Vzbrannoy Voyevode (Thanksgiving to the Mother of
  11. Ride On, King Jesus
  12. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
  13. Same Train
  14. Hymn to St. Cecilia, for chorus, Op. 27: Part I. In a Garden Shady
  15. Sacred Pieces (4), for chorus & orchestra (Quattro pezzi sacri): Ave Maria
  16. Magnificat, for chorus
  17. Mass, for double chorus: Kyrie

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Cappella 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Robert Shaw is still considered on of the finest choral conductors this country has ever produced. When he took over the podium of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra some felt his talents were being wasted on orchestral influence: a few seasons into the role as an orchestral conductor erased the doubts of his ability in that realm. One of the aspects of his tenure programming was always to include the major works for orchestra and chorus and fortunately most of those works were recorded before his death. In this superb CD Robert Shaw returns to his roots as choral conductor, presenting a group of a cappella works that demonstrates just how wide-ranging was his repertoire and a renewed appreciation for this gifts in drawing the very finest of choral singing from his musicians. Included here are near perfect performances of a wide variety of works: de Victoria's 'O vos omnes, qui transitis per viam', Thomas Tallis' 'A new commandment', Poulenc's 'Quatre motets pour un temps de pénitence' and 'Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël', Debussy's 'Chansons de Charles d'Orléans', Brahms' 'Waldesnacht' and 'Abendständchen', Aleksandr Kopylov's 'Heavenly Light', excerpts form the Rachmaninov 'Vespers', Verdi's 'Sacred Pieces', Britten's 'Hymn to St. Cecilia', Arvo Part's 'Magnificat', Frank Martin's 'Mass', and three spirituals.Some may argue this is too wide a selection for a CD, that while this made make for a brilliant evening's performance in the concert hall, it is too much variation to digest on a CD format. But those who feel that way can parcel out the treasures here recorded according to their needs. For a sampling of the genius of Robert Shaw conducting a cappella works, this CD is as fine as they come. Highly Recommended. Grady Harp