A Certain Justice (Adam Dalgliesh Series #10)

A Certain Justice (Adam Dalgliesh Series #10)

by P. D. James
4.0 21

Hardcover

$0.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.

Overview

A Certain Justice (Adam Dalgliesh Series #10) by P. D. James

In a masterful new Adam Dalgliesh mystery, P.D. James enters the labyrinthine world of the law, forging a deeply compelling human drama from the complex passions that lie behind both murder and justice.


From the Paperback edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780571191642
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Publication date: 01/28/1997
Series: Adam Dalgliesh Series , #10
Pages: 390
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.45(h) x (d)

About the Author

P.D. James is the author of fourteen previous books, nine of which have been filmed and broadcast on television. She spent thirty years in various sections of the British Civil Service, including the Police and Criminal Law Departments of the Home Office. She has served as a magistrate and as a governor of the BBC. P.D. James is the recipient of many prizes and honors, and in 1991 was created Baroness James of Holland Park.

Hometown:

London, England

Date of Birth:

August 3, 1920

Place of Birth:

Oxford, England

Education:

Attended the Cambridge High School for Girls from 1931 to 1937 and later took evening classes in hospital administration

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Certain Justice 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
P.D. James purists may argue that ¿Devices and Desires¿ is her best work to date, but ¿A Certain Justice¿ is certainly a close second! Granted, while James seems to devote less time to her leading man, Adam Dalgliesh, she nevertheless succeeds in making a more complete story--concentrating more on other characters and events (almost as if she¿s saying ¿you already know enough about Adam¿!). Still, Commander Dalgliesh is in command and it is through his brilliance that the case is solved (or in this case, ¿cases¿!). Basically, Venetia Aldridge, a brilliant, up-and-coming criminal lawyer is found murdered (there can be no other explanation). As Scotland Yard becomes more involved (after all, it is a murder investigation and the victim is quite prominent in London legal circles), facts begin to emerge that picture a not-so-ordinary past. Venetia is no angel (not yet, anyway!)--there are suspects a-plenty and the motives run rampant, from her cleaning lady to colleagues in and out of court and to her own family members. She has a past that certainly has cut some crucial corners. She is also a woman with an attitude--an attitude that seemed not to care about making enemies. she is also the mother of a teenaged daughter, and their relationship, too, has been a bit tumultuous--dicey at best. Venetia is found stabbed to death at her desk, and a barrister¿s wig placed, askew, on her head. Her body is soaked in blood. A convenient suspect is hurriedly identified (a sociopath whom she¿d successfully defended in a murder trial a few years back!) but, alas, he comes up with an alibi and Dalgliesh must look to others, especially some of her jealous colleagues, for his culprit. James¿ plot is, indeed, convoluted and for the casual reader may be hard to follow. After all, she hasn¿t been labeled ¿queen of crime¿ for nothing. Trying to follow the plot is more like trying to find the path in a maze, but that is also probably one of the main attractions for a James novel: it¿s not simple. At the same time, she painstakingly develops her characters, who, simply, are more than one dimensional. While Venetia, on the surface, reflects an organized, planned concept of justice and law and order, James shows us another side--one of justice running amok, of cruelty in the name of the law, and of fair play being something that seems not to exist. And this road to certain justice is one in a state of disrepair, confusion, and blind leads. It is not without its rewards, however, and by the chilling final-chapters¿ climax, it is, once again, a jury victory for James!.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fix a nice cup of tea, a chocolate eclair, and settle in for a thrilling crime scene investigation! Interesting characters, an intense plot, and just enough twists to keep you guessing thoughout. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard boiled noir. It is more dank Russian or cold Scandia and the tea cups may hold vodka. Adam is not likeable. If his staff shows any warmth it is written out. You may put it out to show what good taste you have in recreational reading but pull out the rex stout robb crispen when you are home with the flue. I really want to like James. But must everyone be flawed and unlikeable? There is never any humor in a James. A long series may become formatic but still provide a comfortable satiisfying escape or little adventure for a dull day. m.a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept me in suspense with its twists and turns in an understated British fashion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
always love any thing written by P.D.James
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mary_Ann_Evans More than 1 year ago
A British crime novel by a master. Set in London with a small set of well- characterized suspects. The writing is smooth and seamless, and the plot intriguing enough to bear rereading. For fans of Ruth Rendell, Elizabeth George or Margery Allingham.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS IS A DIFFERENT KIND OF MYSTERY!!!A VERY SATISFYING YET QUESTIONABLE ENDING...THE TITLE GIVES A CERTAIN PICTURE WHAT KIND OF JUSTICE THE DOOMED VENETIA ALDRIDGE WAS TO GET...A CERTAIN JUSTICE. READ IT AND YOU MIGHT THINK...THIS MIGHT BE THE FIRST TIME IN A MYSTERY NOVEL THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED.!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AS GOOD AS USUAL BY THIS AUTHOR WORTH READING SEVERAL TIMES