A Chasing After the Wind

A Chasing After the Wind

by Jim Carson


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"A Chasing After the Wind" is Jim Carson's long awaited novel and the first of his powerful trilogy.

No one should have to start life with a tragic loss, but Mack Shannon had no choice, it was as if he was born with a birthmark of a black cloud.

Sent by his Uncle Mickey to live at an all boys Catholic orphanage, he meets his life long nemesis, Crazy Ray, a devious and unsavory character that causes him to be hunted and beaten for a crime he didn't commit. His uncle has had enough, and in the dark morning mist, after a second clash with the police, Mack is shipped off on a towboat downriver to Natchez, Mississippi to live with a spinster aunt on her 100,000-acre farm, Shamrock Plantation.

These misfortunes are like a disease with no cure, but Mack learns to use them as building blocks for the upcoming challenge of a once in a lifetime opportunity from his Aunt Irish.

Will Mack rise to the challenge of becoming greater than he ever imagined, or will he fall into the Memphis underworld of drug lords and hit men?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780692315514
Publication date: 11/20/2014
Pages: 332
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

JIM CARSON, a former Marine, studied Theatre Arts at various California universities where he won numerous awards in acting, directing and speech. His pursuit of a vocation that would satisfy his dreams led him to many occupations: firefighter, soybean farmer, director of Underwater Rescue, night school teacher, and the job that always paid the bills, a commercial general contractor. Ask him to tell you about the time he was flying to his house in Key West and walked away after totaling his V-tail Bonanza on takeoff from the Destin Airport or the time when he was hired as a sparring partner, unaware it was Davy Moore, the Featherweight Champion of the World-he was paid $10 a round.

Jim was born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee. He has two adult children, one in Nashville, Tennessee and the other in Richmond, Virginia. He lives on 3 acres in a 1920 Italian Renaissance house with a small leak in the tile roof that nobody can find.
The first book of his trilogy, "A Chasing After The Wind" and the sequel, "A Man's Hungry Heart" are available in hardcover, paperback and e-book at Amazon.com or his website:
www.jamesacarson.com. The third book of his trilogy, "A Woman's Choice" is under construction and will be available for purchase in the spring of 2016.

From the Author: "Out of millions of writers, only 2% make enough money to live on, so reviews are important and good ones fuel our egos which motivates us to write better books. If you like my books, I would appreciate you telling your friends and if you write me a review on Amazon.com, I will send you a free e-book. Please email me at my website: www.jamesacarson.com."

Customer Reviews