A Day at the Beach

A Day at the Beach

by Sonia Dada


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


A Day at the Beach

Memorable melodies abound on this sadly overlooked 1995 release from Sonia Dada. Telling tales from all walks of life, the soaring, soulful vocal harmonies of Sam Hogan, Michael Scott, and Paris Delane sail smoothly over the exceptional musicianship of their backing band. The multi-talented Dan Pritzker tackles the roles of guitarist, producer and main songwriter, bringing a musical depth and lyrical intelligence that is often lacking in catchy, groove-oriented pop
ock songs. While "The River Runs Slow" and "Wishing Tree" gently frame the bittersweet experience of love and family, "Screaming John" and "Amazing Jane" paint painfully glorious pictures of people living on the edge and on the street with poignant declarations such as "crazy is just another point of view." Tucked amidst these more heady pieces are the street corner, doo-wop story of getting clean down at "Lester's Methadone Clinic" and the romping adventures of "Anna Lee" and her man on the road and on the run. Aptly titled, A Day at the Beach is an enjoyable, easy musical journey with a band that evades labels by reveling in their amalgamation of soul, pop, rock, blues, and gospel.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/21/1995
Label: Capricorn / Umgd
UPC: 0789394203722
catalogNumber: 942037

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonia Dada   Primary Artist,Group
Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Band
Franz Jackson   Clarinet
Jim Beebe   Trombone
Bobbye Hall   Percussion,Conga
Chris Cameron   Piano,Hammond Organ
Shawn Christopher   Background Vocals
Paris Delane   Vocals
Hank (Henry Dog) Guaglianone   Drums
Sam Hogan   Vocals
Dan Pritzker   Guitar
David Resnik   Guitar
Julia Tillman Waters   Background Vocals
Ron Schwartz   Tamboura
Willie Schwartz   Tabla
Erik Scott   Bass
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Cheryl Wilson   Background Vocals
Renee Stewart   Background Vocals
Michele Taylor   Telephone Voice
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Owen Waters   Background Vocals
Bobby Lewis   Trumpet
Willy Schobben   Tabla
Michael Scott   Vocals
Michael Scott   Vocals
Ms. Bobbye Hall   Percussion,Conga
Willy Schwarz   Tabla

Technical Credits

Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Contributor,Introduction
Bruce Breckenfeld   Engineer
Chris Cameron   Programming
Paul Ebersold   Engineer
Jeffrey Laine   Engineer
Dan Pritzker   Producer
Chris Shepard   Engineer
Stefon Taylor   Engineer
Jim Tullio   Contributor
Chris Sabold   Engineer
Steve Kocour   Contributor,House Sound
Dave Kresl   Engineer
Lily Maso   Engineer
Doug McBride   Engineer
Claudine Pontier   Engineer
Eddie Sexton   Engineer
Joshua Shapera   Engineer
Michele Taylor   Contributor
Don Tiddle   Engineer
Dennis Tousana   Engineer
Arnold Goodwin   Graphic Design
Jeffery Lane   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews