×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Fairy Called Hilary
     

A Fairy Called Hilary

by Linda Leopold Strauss, Sue Truesdell (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

On a perfectly normal Sunday, Caroline and her parents are motoring off to the Natural History Museum when a fairy called Hilary asks to join them. The fun never ends with the addition of a real live fairy to the family! Hilary gives the family cat the power to talk and constructs the biggest snowman ever!

Overview

On a perfectly normal Sunday, Caroline and her parents are motoring off to the Natural History Museum when a fairy called Hilary asks to join them. The fun never ends with the addition of a real live fairy to the family! Hilary gives the family cat the power to talk and constructs the biggest snowman ever!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Strauss's lightweight fantasy (which first appeared in Cricket magazine) is a lot like cotton candy. The first few bites are delicious, but it starts getting old quickly. Hilary, a preteen, life-size fairy, settles in with Caroline's family and tries to refrain from using magic, but once per chapter the temptation is too great. At Caroline's prodding, she gives the cat the gift of speech for his birthday, creates "the tallest snowman in the world" and beefs up a magician's act during her friend Susie's birthday party. Although Hilary's spells sometimes cause mayhem, the result is always more fun than disastrous. Yet too many questions are left unanswered: Why did Hilary appear to Caroline? Why does she want to leave fairyland? When will she return to her real home? Those mysteries aside, readers won't need a crystal ball to foretell what's coming in each chapter. Ages 7-11. (Apr.)
Children's Literature - Sharon Tolle
What started out as just an ordinary afternoon trip to the museum for Caroline and her parents ended up being anything but ordinary. Suddenly, just like that, Hillary appeared in the back seat of their car. Not believing at first that this could actually be possible, the family doubted what they were seeing. Soon Hillary convinced them she was for real and that in fact fairies have always lived with humans. She was welcomed into the family and this is when the fun begins. Her magic enlivens Halloween, building a snowman, and even mother's garden, but the day draws near when Hilary must leave. The girls come up with a remarkable way to make Hillary's memory live on forever. This is a great chapter book for anyone who ready to suspend belief and accept that fairyland really does exist.
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 2-4-This contemporary story seems oddly old-fashioned. Originally a serialized tale in Cricket magazine, the episodic plot reflects the book's origin. The mild adventures of the narrator, Caroline, and Hilary, a fairy who comes to live with her, include a cat that begins to talk, a mixed-up magic show, and a brief brush with (maybe) a real witch. Characterization is limited, with flat, albeit pleasant, adults. Hilary, the most potentially intriguing character, reveals little about her magical abilities or about her home and family. Truesdell's amusing black-and-white illustrations do help to breathe life into Strauss's creations. While the low-key story is not splashy or exciting, it may appeal to fans of Edward Eager and E. Nesbit.-Lisa Dennis, The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, PA
Kirkus Reviews
A very funny little book about a fairy and the family she elects to live with after they confess they believe in her. On a perfectly normal Sunday, as Caroline and her parents are motoring off to the Natural History Museum, a fairy who calls herself Hilary suddenly appears and asks to join them. She joins the family, too, looking like an ordinary child and behaving like one, at least until Caroline coaxes her into a little fairy magic. She gives the family cat, King Arthur, the power to talk, and makes him invisible so he can go to school with the girls. Her magic makes Halloween a little more wondrous, and helps the girls construct the biggest snowman ever. When they're invited to a birthday party that features a lame magician, Hilary give him a hand, secretly, and he outperforms himself. A dour plane trip turns into a glorious one with Hilary's aid, while her work in Caroline's mother's garden makes other gardeners jealous. In her wonderful frolic, Strauss mingles ordinary events and enchantment with ease; the fun is complemented by charmingly droll black-and-white drawings. (Fiction. 7-11)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780439175197
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
02/01/2001
Pages:
128
Product dimensions:
5.26(w) x 7.55(h) x 0.32(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews