A Fortress in Shadow: The Fire in His Hands, With Mercy Toward None

A Fortress in Shadow: The Fire in His Hands, With Mercy Toward None

by Glen Cook

Paperback

$14.60 $15.95 Save 8% Current price is $14.6, Original price is $15.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Overview

  • The second and final book in the Dread Empire Box Set Series
  • Ideal for fans of Diamonds in the Shadow, Harriet Steel, In the Shadow of the Sword, and Black Raven Chronicles
  • Follows the journey of El Murid, the Disciple, while trying to uncover his vision for a desert empire

While once, long ago, a mighty kingdom reigned, all is now chaos. Deep in the desert, a young heretic narrowly escapes certain death and leaves for a mission of glory and madness. He is El Murid, also called the Disciple. He promises to bring prosperity, righteousness, and order to the desert people of Hammad al Nakir. They have waited for El Murid for 400 years. They have wanted a savior who can build a new empire by defeating their enemies. But El Murid is not everything he appears to be, and the dark and evil forces pulling the strings of empire come into the forefront. Who and what lie behind El Murid’s vision of a desert empire? 

The Dread Empire is a gritty world filled with larger-than-life plots, maddening magic, bizarre creatures, nation-shattering conflict, and painfully honest and flawed heroes. All of this is when through the remarkable filter of Glen Cook’s war-correspondent prose. Shadows linger in the Dread Empire, and people live in sorcery’s shadow. Glen Cook’s brilliant writing brings the Dread Empire to life and pulls the reader into this dark world. 

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597801003
Publisher: Night Shade
Publication date: 08/01/2008
Series: Dread Empire Series
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 636,881
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, and attended the University of Missouri. Cook began to write while working for General Motors at an auto assembly plant. He has published many science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Garrett P.I. series of novels about an occult-detective, and the very popular Black Company books, and the Dread Empire series. He retired from his job at GM and lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.

Date of Birth:

July 9, 1944

Place of Birth:

New York City, New York

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Fortress in Shadow: The Fire in His Hands, With Mercy Toward None 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Omnibus of the 4th and 5th parts by publication date, yet in internal chronology this is definately a prequel and should be read first. It contains the same characters as 'The Cruel Wind' and details some of the history behidn the events there. Otherwise it is much the same, without the "Dread Empire" featuring at all. This is the conflict between the Eastern desert tribes and the Western small nations. Again there is no hero, Characters on both sides are presented with equal moral reasoning for their actions which prodiuce only war and devastation. We follow El Murid in his invasion of the West seeking to create an Empire of Peace, similar to the old Imperium. And also the new recruits to the Guild Ragnarson and his brothers as they take on their first assigment, protecting small nations from the invasion. Inbetween the ever irrepresible Mocker flits form trouble to clamity,Dry writing, sparse of detail it still manages to be compelling reading, even knowing in advance how the events will unwind. There is little or no detailed gore, no sword play, merely the movements of armies and results of combat. At the time this was a groundbreaking departure from the cloying victorean fantasy of shining princes and melting princesses. These days it comes across as a little terse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a rule I am not fond of prequels, however this was well written amd provided depth to the story as well as the characters of the book that came before (A Cruel Wind). It was a quick read full of action and intrigue. I am even more eager to continue the series now!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mocker More than 1 year ago
Interesting look at some favorite characters in their younger days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago