"A" is for Asshat

Paperback

$12.99
MARKETPLACE
2 New & Used Starting at $2.43

Overview

The first novel in a fast-paced, funny new series that's perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton.

After a decade spent in the glare of the Hollywood spotlight as the star of kids' TV show Half Pint Detective, Sofia Salgado has had enough. Desperate to build a life outside showbiz, she quits acting to do something that everyone around her- including her family - thinks is plain nuts. Get a real job.

They think she's even crazier when she announces that she's going to become a real detective, instead of playing one on TV. She's convinced the technical consultant from her TV show, Brendan Maloney, to take her on in his detective agency, but can accident-prone Sofia hack it?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781518676567
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 10/18/2015
Pages: 358
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.74(d)

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Rebecca Cantrell has published nine novels in over ten different languages. Her novels have won the ITW Thriller, the Macavity, and the Bruce Alexander awards. In addition, they have been nominated for the GoodReads Choice award, the Barry, the RT Reviewers Choice, and the APPY award. She and her husband and son live in Berlin. Find Rebecca Cantrell on Facebook, Twitter, and at www.rebeccacantrell.com

To research his books, Sean Black has trained as a bodyguard in the UK and Eastern Europe, spent time inside America's most dangerous Supermax prison, Pelican Bay in California, undergone desert survival training in Arizona, and ventured into the tunnels under Las Vegas.
A graduate of Oxford University, England and Coiumbia University in New York, Sean lives in Ireland with his wife, daughter, Golden Retriever (who runs his Twitter page @ThrillerHound), and a ginger cat called Kitney Spears.
His novels have been translated into Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portugese, Russian, Spanish, and Turkish. You can find out more about Sean and his other books, and sign up to his mailing list to get free books at seanblackauthor.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

"A" is for Asshat (Malibu Mystery, #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
SuwithnoE More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this new collaboration between International and New York Times bestselling authors Rebecca Cantrell and Sean Black. I ordered and read one of Sean's books (Extolziby Gruff and the 39th College) before reading this one, to get a feel for his writing style. He's good. I wasn't disappointed. His writing is fluid, riveting and descriptive. Sean is a new author I will be adding to my 'must read' list. I have read all of Rebecca's books. Her Hannah Vogel series through her new Joe Tesla series. I've been listening to Agatha Christie Murder Mysteries and reading Thrillers and Action/Adventure books in the past that kept me mesmerized and sitting on the edge of my seat, and then along comes this refreshing little comedy! This book made me laugh out loud! I spend so much time reading one genre of writing that this book was such a reprieve. I thoroughly enjoyed it! I haven't had this much fun with a book in ages! Laughter is an emotion that needs to be released just as often as crying or frustration. This first book introduces us to Sofia Salgado, the frustrated star in a popular kid's television show 'Half Pint Detective'. Tired of spending 10 years in the spotlight of Tinsel town, she decides to quit and get a real job. She decides, instead of playing a detective, she will become a detective. She enlists the help of Brendan Maloney, the technical consultant for her show. When being incognito is a high priority for a detective, it seems odd that it would be Sofia's first choice for a new career, what with her face having been plastered all over television and movie screens for half her life. The predicaments she encounters along the way on each case is where the cause for comedy comes in. I don't know whose idea it was to collaborate on these books, but Thank You and God Bless You - what took you two so long to get together? These two authors work extremely well together. You really should check out and read some of their other books. I'm looking forward to reading more terrific books from these two using the rest of the alphabet!
Annette5151 More than 1 year ago
I was given a free copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. I've read just about all of Rebecca Cantrell's books,so I guess you could say I'm big fan. All of her books are so different,she continues to surprise me. I couldn't help but compare this character and book to the Stephanie Plum books. I like her main character Sofia,she has it all together. It was an entertaining read and I will look forward to her next one to see where she goes