A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

by John Allen Paulos
5.0 1

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market by John Allen Paulos

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780465009701
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 10/11/2007
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 593,341
File size: 237 KB

About the Author

John Allen Paulos received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Wisconsin and is professor of mathematics at Temple University. Dr. Paulos has written a number of scholarly papers on mathematical logic, probability, and the philosophy of science. He is also the author of Innumeracy: Mathematical Illiteracy and Its Consequences, Beyond Numeracy: Ruminations of a Numbers Man, Mathematics and Humor, and A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A most unusual book. This book taught me more about stocks and markets than any ten technical books. It was odd to see a personal story woven through Paulos's explanations of numerous concepts, but it and the other stories and clever mind games he discusses made the ideas super clear. Surprised at his remarks on insider trading and his insights into efficient markets, cons (WorldCom) and chatroom scams, fractals, and network theory, I found myself often smiling as I was reading. Excellent.