A Million Miles from Home

A Million Miles from Home

by Mike Dellosso

Paperback

$14.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Overview

After suffering tragic loss, Ben Flurry must confront the past and his own grief to become the father his child needs.



Ben and Annie Flurry have the perfect family, until an accident takes Annie's life and leaves their daughter severely injured. Now Ben struggles to come to terms with his own grief and guilt.



As the past he tried to leave behind threatens all he holds dear, Ben makes the difficult decision to move back to his childhood home to seek the help of his mother — and the father he remembers as abusive and an alcoholic. His mother claims his father is a changed man, but Ben isn't so sure. Can he find the strength to be the dad and man his father never was? Or will the wounds of the past ruin Ben's chance to love again?

Written for the General Market (G) (I): Contains little or no; sexual dialogue or situations, violence, or strong language. May also contain some content of an inspirational nature.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946016492
Publisher: Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas
Publication date: 06/14/2018
Pages: 222
Sales rank: 635,047
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.51(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Million Miles from Home 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
devonrexlover More than 1 year ago
I love this author. He can describe a scene in 3 sentences and make you feel like you're in the middle of whatever is going on. This book isn't his normal genre. It's a romance with a lot of depth and substance. The spiritual content was my favorite. All you women who read romance novels, give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.
SusanSnodgrassBookworm More than 1 year ago
'I was already bitter and angry, and not just angry but downright mad. Both at God and myself.' I have read every single one of Mike Dellosso's books. He has a special gift of drawing the reader right down into the characters' hearts. He can cross genres seamlessly as well. This one I read in hours! It broke my heart, made me burst into tears several times and get leaky eyed at others. It was very full of emotion that my heart filled right up to the brim and splashed over. Ben Flurry, his wife Annie and 7 year old daughter Lizzy are incredibly happy in their home and life in Pennsylvania. They have created something special. Ben has loved Annie since he was 13 years old and he would come to his tree house after her dad beat on her, which he did regularly. Ben vowed to always protect Annie. But a day when he could not. A horrific car accident takes Annie from him and horribly injures sweet Lizzy. Ben is so incredibly bereft he can't even see straight. He can't understand why this happened and doesn't see how in the world he can go on, especially now that Lizzy has such a long road of recovery ahead. He decides to go back to their hometown of Boomer, NC, where his parents still live. This is a move which takes a lot of courage because Ben's alcoholic dad was always verbally abusive to him, all his life. But his dad has suffered a stroke and Ben's mom says he is a changed man and has found Christ. Ben very much doubts it and sees no point in trying to form a relationship with his dad after all this time. But Ben is struggling and desperately wants to not be the kind of dad his own dad was. Will Ben allow bitterness and unforgiveness to mar his own future? Can he find the strength and grace to open his own heart? Written with such a depth of feeling, this book is destined to be read over and over again and is definitely one for the keeper shelf. Mike Dellosso writes with such heart and compassion and grief that it moves the reader in ways they never expected. Truly, this book touched my heart in a profound way. It will be one of my top reads of 2018. Highly recommended.
SemmieWise More than 1 year ago
** “God, he understands the cries of a broken heart. He’s been there. … Yep, I think God is a big enough God that he can take a little rantin’ and ravin’ from us. He knows your heart, son, and he loves you more than you can ever love him back. He knows this is somethin’ you’re gonna need to wrestle with a bit. … You just keep on wrestlin’, you hear? Can’t promise you’ll get your answer but it’s in the wrestling that we learn to surrender.” ** Mike Dellosso steps away from his usual supernatural thriller fare with his latest novel, “A Million Miles From Home,” a heart-wrenching story of resentment, redemption and restoration. Benjamin and Annie Flurry have been in love since they were 13. Both fleeing abusive homes, they leave North Carolina and begin their married life in Pennsylvania. After having their miracle baby, Lizzy, life is good. Ben loves his job with the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection and Annie delights in homeschooling their daughter. But that all comes to a crashing halt one night when a terrible accident takes the life of Annie and severely crushes Lizzy’s legs. To pick up the pieces, Ben is forced to move back home to North Carolina. Will Lizzy be able to heal physically and will they both be able to heal their hearts? And will Ben be able to redeem the relationship with his formerly abusive father? “A Million Miles From Home” is a deeply emotional novel, filled with very real and raw moments as Ben and Lizzy deal with the grief and loss of their wife and mother. This story shows how each person deals with impending storms differently, and what we can learn from each other’s responses. It reminds us that suffering is, unfortunately, a part of life, but that God has a plan for us; sometimes it feels like God has abandoned us, but He is always there; we can choose to either run to or away from God during difficult times; the importance of forgiveness; and the image of being made new. Dealing with the storms of life is a major theme, and Dellosso reminds us that God will always walk us through those storms. Written in a reminiscent tone, like your friend is telling you his story while rocking on the front porch, the story switches back and forth between the present and situations in Ben’s past. Besides the lovable Ben, Annie and Lizzy, Dellosso writes some great characters, including the amazingly supportive Tom, the hospital’s maintenance worker Ben meets after the accident and who basically becomes a member of the family. Dellosso writes his characters with very real, relatable flaws. Even though this story is very different from Dellosso’s usual offerings, “A Million Miles From Home” is an incredible novel that will wrench your gut and make you wonder how’d you get through a similar situation. Fans of authors like Nicholas Sparks, Richard Paul Evans, Jodi Picoult and even Billy Coffey will enjoy this novel. Five stars out of five.