A New Heaven

A New Heaven

by Choir of the Queen's College, Oxford


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


A New Heaven

The Choir of the Queen's College, Oxford, has emerged in the top rank of England's mixed-gender collegiate choirs with a distinctive rounded style, full of sentiment, in the women's voices. Here they pair it with a novel program for an album that will be a winner among choral music enthusiasts. The title comes from Edgar Bainton's "And I saw a new heaven," a motet setting text from the Book of Revelations. This lovely work, composed in 1928, is the earliest work on the program, which extends forward in time to music by composers in their twenties when the album appeared in 2017. The overall idea is strong: an examination of the new British choral repertory from its roots in the middle 20th century, to its giants like John Rutter and, more lately, James MacMillan, to the youthful figures who show where the music may be going. These are especially intriguing. Sample "Et vidi angelum" of Marco Galvani, who was born in 1994. With its structure built on parallel harmonies, it fits with the overall moderate-tempo, tonal language of the album as a whole, but suggests something apart from the general atmosphere of nostalgia that surrounds that language. With a unique mixture of classics and new material, and strong engineering in a pair of Oxford venues, this is a good pick for lovers of the English choral repertory and sound.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2017
Label: Signum Uk
UPC: 0635212047521
catalogNumber: 475
Rank: 221709


  1. The Seventh Angel, for chorus & organ (with optional trumpet)
  2. The World on Fire, for chorus
  3. Hymn to the Creator of Light, for unaccompanied double choir
  4. Alleluia, Amen, for chorus & organ ('Festival Anthem')
  5. Faire Is the Heaven, for chorus
  6. Et vidi angelum, for chorus
  7. Bring us, O Lord, for chorus
  8. Seven Trumpets, for chorus
  9. I know that my Redeemer liveth, for chorus
  10. Ecce venio cito, for chorus
  11. And I Saw a New Heaven, anthem for chorus & organ
  12. Stetit Angelus, for chorus
  13. Bring Us, O Lord God, for chorus
  14. Alpha and Omega, for chorus

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews