A Proper Introduction to Ella Fitzgerald: Smooth Sailing

A Proper Introduction to Ella Fitzgerald: Smooth Sailing

by Ella Fitzgerald



The Proper label started out by issuing inexpensive but exhaustive box sets on an array of important subjects, but then moved on to produce a series of single-disc introductions à la Living Era. Their volume on Ella Fitzgerald includes Decca material taken from the mid-'40s and early '50s, after her period with the Chick Webb Orchestra and before her Verve recordings made her one of the best female jazz vocalists of all time. While recording for Decca, Ella balanced the high-flying vocal acrobatics of her early career with an increasing reliance on her interpretive gifts, and A Proper Introduction to Ella Fitzgerald: Smooth Sailing covers both of those sides. As examples of the former, just listen to "Flying Home" and "Air Mail Special"; for the latter, the compilers chose nine Gershwin tunes including the poignant ballads "Someone to Watch Over Me" and "Oh, Lady Be Good." As with others in the series, the selections make this less than perfect as an introduction to Ella Fitzgerald -- even for this period in her career -- but it's quite good nevertheless.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/06/2004
Label: Proper Introduction
UPC: 0805520060097
catalogNumber: 2009

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ella Fitzgerald   Primary Artist,Vocals
Bill Doggett   Organ
Roy Eldridge   Trumpet
Herb Ellis   Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Bill Harris   Trombone
Hank Jones   Piano
Oscar Peterson   Piano
Flip Phillips   Tenor Saxophone
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Shavers   Trumpet
Bobby Byrne   Trombone
Taft Jordan   Trumpet
Sy Oliver   Conductor
Bill Pritchard   Trombone
Moe Wechsler   Piano
Everett Barksdale   Guitar
Sandy Block   Bass
Johnny Blowers   Drums
Ray Brown   Bass
Mort Bullman   Trombone
Sid Cooper   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Crawford   Drums
Harold Feldman   Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Genduso   Trumpet
J.C. Heard   Drums
Dick Jacobs   Tenor Saxophone,Bells
Irv Kluger   Drums
Ellis Larkins   Piano
Dave McRae   Baritone Saxophone
Ralph Muzillo   Trumpet
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
Bernie Privin   Trumpet
Ray Tunia   Piano
Vic Schoen   Conductor
Hy White   Guitar
Milt Yaner   Alto Saxophone
Rudy Traylor   Drums
Bernard Kaufman   Alto Saxophone
Arnold Fishkind   Bass
Felix Giobbe   Bass
Sid Rubin   Tenor Saxophone
Louis Ruggiero   Trumpet
Ray Charles Singers   Vocals

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Charlie Christian   Composer
Arnett Cobb   Composer
Benny Goodman   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Hank Jones   Composer
Matt Dennis   Composer
Jimmy Mundy   Composer
Sy Oliver   Arranger
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Ervin Drake   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ray Evans   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Johnny Green   Composer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Joe McCoy   Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
Vic Schoen   Arranger
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Robert Sour   Composer
Frank Eyton   Composer
Earl Brent   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Sydney Robin   Composer
Joe Ricardel   Composer
Joop Visser   Producer,Liner Notes
Hans Lengsfelder   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews