A Public Disservice Announcement

A Public Disservice Announcement

by Methods of Mayhem


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


A Public Disservice Announcement

To call A Public Disservice Announcement an album with mass appeal doesn't quite do it justice. The new album from Tommy Lee's newly re-formed Methods of Mayhem isn't just a record that's written for the people, it was quite literally written by the people. Using the website The Public Record, an interactive music community site conceived of by producer Scott Humphrey where people can share their song ideas and collaborate with one another online, the band worked with fans to write the album, submitting the basic framework of a song and allowing anyone who wanted to the opportunity to add his or her ideas to the song. After choosing the best ideas from over 10,000 submissions (and giving the fans credit where credit was due), and adding guest spots from artists like Chino Moreno (Deftones), Deryck Whibley (Sum 41), and Chad Kroeger (Nickelback), A Public Disservice Announcement was born. The album spans a vast array of genres, covering rap-rock ("Drunk Uncle Pete"), nu metal ("Fight Song"), and dance-rock ("All I Wanna Do"). It's good to see Lee changing with the times and branching away from the sound of the platinum-selling Methods of Mayhem, letting fans breathe easily knowing that while the album may sound like many things, it doesn't sound like rap-metal circa 1999.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/21/2010
Label: Roadrunner Records
UPC: 0016861781422
catalogNumber: 178142

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Methods of Mayhem   Primary Artist
Scott Humphrey   Synthesizer,Piano,Background Vocals
James Kottak   Vocals
Tommy Lee   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Chris Chaney   Bass
Chad Kroeger   Background Vocals
Deryck Whibley   Guitar
Sofi Toufa   Vocals
Joel Zimmerman   electronics
Marcus Davis   Vocals
Skrillex   Synthesizer
Steven McSwain   Background Vocals
John "J3" Allen   Guitar,Vocals
Phil Xenidis   Guitar,Background Vocals
Will Hunt   Drums

Technical Credits

Scott Humphrey   Composer,Producer
James Kottak   Composer
Tommy Lee   Composer,Producer
Frank Gryner   Engineer
Tommy Henriksen   Composer
Corey Lowery   Composer
Clint Lowery   Composer
Troy McLawhorn   Composer
Chad Kroeger   Composer
Chris Baseford   Engineer
Joel Zimmerman   Composer
Marcus Davis   Composer
Skrillex   Cut
Sofia Toufa   Composer
Kai Huppunen   Composer
John Edward Allen   Composer
Athena Kottak   Composer
Phil Xenidis   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews