A Sister's Courage (The Victory Sisters, Book 1)

A Sister's Courage (The Victory Sisters, Book 1)

by Molly Green

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

It’s 1939 and the threat of war hangs over Britain…

The most ambitious of three sisters, Lorraine ‘Raine’ Linfoot always dreamed of becoming a pilot. As a spirited seventeen-year-old, she persuades her hero Doug Williams to teach her to fly.

When war breaks out in 1939, Raine is determined to put her skills to good use. She enlists in the Air Transport Auxiliary, becoming one of a handful of brave female pilots flying fighter planes to the men on the front line.

Raine embraces the challenges of the job, despite its perils. But when Doug is reported missing after his Spitfire is shot down, she realises the war could tear apart not only her country, but also her heart…

A gripping story of family, friendship and courage, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas, Nancy Revell and Call the Midwife.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008378431
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/28/2019
Series: The Victory Sisters , #1
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 61,873
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Molly Green is a seasoned author of fiction and non-fiction. She has sold lipstick in a Denver store, modelled in Atlanta, assisted the UN Narcotics
Director in Geneva, chauffeured a Swiss Gnome in Zurich, assisted a famous film producer in the UK, and cooked in a sanatorium in Germany. She now lives and writes in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Sister's Courage (The Victory Sisters, Book 1) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Shirleymca 8 days ago
Airplanes, Friendship, and Romance I really enjoyed reading this story about the lady pilots flying for the ATA (Air Transport Auxiliary). It was good to hear how women helped during the war shuttling airplanes to the bases for the male servicemen to fly. Not only did they prove to be as good pilots as the men, they could fly every different kind of aircraft. The friendship between the lady pilots was heartwarming. Not only did they have each other's back, the actually cared about the well being of their fellow pilots. Raine had wanted to fly an airplane from an early age, ever since her father took her to a flying circus and she was allowed to ride in an airplane. Against her mother's wishes, but with her father's blessing, and the help and encouragement from her two sisters, she learned to fly. The story not only covers how she learned to fly and got into the ATA, but the story of her family and her struggles to find her way as a woman pilot. The best part is the ATA and her friendship with the other women pilots. Their experiences in prejudice against women flying, their narrow misses in the airplanes, the drama of their lives and how they helped each other cope with the stress of war and of the job. The rigid training, the long hours flying, the thrill of the first solo flight. It was a wonderful story of triumph and fulfillment. There is also the story of her friends Doug, and Alec and the drama between the three of them. Both Doug and Alec spoke to her of their love for her. Would she choose Doug the older soft spoken friend or Alec the new cocky pilot she meets at a dance? The drama of Doug being shot down over enemy territory. The night with Alec in Windsor when the bomb just missed the theatre they were attending. So much action and drama. It in itself was a sweet love story in the midst of war. Molly has written another great book. This author is one of my favorite, I enjoy her books, and I am sure you will as well. I recommend you grab a copy of " A Sister's Courage" and start reading, you will be glad you did. My thanks to Molly Green, Avon Books UK, and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review an advance copy of the book.