×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Taste of Death
     

A Taste of Death

5.0 3
by Mary Ellen Hughes
 

See All Formats & Editions

Cedar Hill sounds like the perfect place for Maggie to write her math puzzle book-a small New Hampshire town whose biggest problem should be keeping roads to the adjacent ski slopes clear of snow. The first town meeting, however, proves otherwise. Bitter arguments break out over Jack Warwick's proposal to buy the financially-struggling ski resort and turn it into a

Overview

Cedar Hill sounds like the perfect place for Maggie to write her math puzzle book-a small New Hampshire town whose biggest problem should be keeping roads to the adjacent ski slopes clear of snow. The first town meeting, however, proves otherwise. Bitter arguments break out over Jack Warwick's proposal to buy the financially-struggling ski resort and turn it into a granite mine. Maggie thinks she can keep out of it all, until Jack drops dead of poison and her childhood friend becomes the prime suspect.

As Maggie investigates, she soon finds there were many who wished Jack dead. Which one of them acted on it, though, and planted evidence pointing to her friend? Maggie struggles to find out, before time runs out, and before the killer decides to give her A Taste of Death.

Editorial Reviews

Booklist - John Rowan
Hughes capably combines elements of both cozy and
environmental mysteries. The characters are engaging, the plot has more
twists than a tough ski slope, and there is plenty of cozy ambience,
thanks to a charming cat, much attention to food, and the ski resort
setting. Fans of Diane Mott Davidson's Goldy Bear series or Leslie
Meier's Lucy Stone novels should add this series to their lists.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803495784
Publisher:
Bouregy, Thomas & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
02/24/2003
Pages:
192

Meet the Author

Mary Ellen Hughes is the author of the first Maggie Olenski mystery, RESORT TO MURDER, as well as the Craft Corner mysteries - WREATH OF DECEPTION, STRING OF LIES, and PAPER-THIN ALIBI. Her short story - The Woman on the Train - is also available on B&N. A Milwaukee native, Mary Ellen currently lives in Maryland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Taste of Death 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down! Every chapter is full of new twists that kept my interest. Mystery book lovers will love the surprising turns the story takes again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago