Pub. Date:
A Thousand Suns

A Thousand Suns

by Linkin ParkLinkin Park


$14.77 $14.99 Save 1% Current price is $14.77, Original price is $14.99. You Save 1%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, September 28


We were not making an album.

For months, we'd been destroying and rebuilding our band. The experiments that resulted filled the studio hard drive with diverse, abstract sounds. Amorphous echoes, cacophonous samples, and handmade staccato merged into wandering, elusive melody. Each track felt like a hallucination.

We didn't know if any of those unorthodox ideas could be incorporated into a traditional album, but we knew we didn't want our next album to be predictable. Sitting together in the same studio where we made our first album, all six of us voiced a commitment to going out on a limb, to making something truly daring. We asked ourselves: were we all earnestly willing, more than ever before, to abandon the precepts of commercial ambition in pursuit of what we believe to be honest art?

The inclination to begin writing conventional songs for a conventional album came and went. The temptation to adjust our creative vision to fulfill expectations beyond our studio walls yielded to the audacious ambition of what he hoped to achieve as a band. The two years of making A Thousand Suns marked our exhilarating, surrealistic, and often challenging journey into the creative unknown.

On the eve of its completion, this body of work, assembled through unconscious inspiration and unmitigated exertion, has revealed to us notions both stirring and surprising. The album's personified imagery is neither dogma nor political premeditation. The emergent themes and metaphors illuminate a uniquely human story.

A Thousand Suns grapples with the personal cycle of pride, destruction, and regret. In life, like in dreams, this sequence is not always linear. And, sometimes, true remorse penetrates the devastating cycle. The hope, of course, springs from the notion that the possibility of change is born in our most harrowing moments.

Enjoy the music.

Linkin Park

-- From the Label

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624963332
catalogNumber: 525375
Rank: 72278


  1. The Requiem
  2. The Radiance
  3. Burning in the Skies
  4. Empty Spaces
  5. When They Come for Me
  6. Robot Boy
  7. Jornada del Muerto
  8. Waiting for the End
  9. Blackout
  10. Wretches and Kings
  11. Wisdom, Justice, and Love
  12. Iridescent
  13. Fallout
  14. The Catalyst
  15. The Messenger

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Linkin Park   Primary Artist
Martin Luther King   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Mike Shinoda   Vocals,Group Member
Mario Savio   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Chester Bennington   Vocals,Group Member
Brad Delson   Background Vocals,Group Member
Rob Bourdon   Background Vocals,Group Member
Dave "Phoenix" Farrell   Background Vocals,Group Member
Joe Hahn   Background Vocals,Group Member
Robert Oppenheimer   Interviewee

Technical Credits

Rick Rubin   Producer
Martin Luther King   Composer
Mike Shinoda   Lyricist,Producer,Engineer,Pro-Tools
Linkin Park   Composer
Chester Bennington   Lyricist
Brad Delson   Pro-Tools
Ethan Mates   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Frank Maddocks   Art Direction
Peter Standish   Marketing
Kymm Britton   Publicity
Mario McNulty   Engineer
Josh Newell   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Josh Vanover   Artwork
Jerry Johnson   Drum Technician
Czeslaw "Nobrain" Sakowski   Programming
Anton Brooks   Publicity

Customer Reviews