A Time of Ashes (Fate and the Wheel, #1)

A Time of Ashes (Fate and the Wheel, #1)

by Ru Pringle

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

A Time of Ashes (Fate and the Wheel, #1) by Ru Pringle

'One of the most interesting and exciting new writers to emerge north of the border since Iain Banks' - Gary Gibson, award-nominated author of Angel Stations, Against Gravity and Stealing Light.

What do you do when the end of the world is coming and not even a god can help you any more?

'...Rudy Rucker on drugs' - BestSF

'The last thing Murrin remembered before the madness and horror began was a moment of exquisite peace and silence.'

Before the Corruption came, truthkeep Murrin Kentle lived in a world where the largest island could be walked across in a day, and humans traded and fished in bladeships made from the bones of the gigantic and bizarre sea monsters patrolling its stormy, bottomless oceans.

Before the Corruption came, the land was dominated by a secretive sect of scholars who fought the decay of knowledge with religious fervour, in a tense but fruitful coexistence with the amphibious, matriarchal Shi'iin.

Before the Corruption came, there was hard-won prosperity and an uneasy peace.

NOW THE CORRUPTION IS HERE, and nothing in Murrin's world, nor any of the worlds of the Sundered Realm, will ever be the same.

BY TURNS TOUCHING, humorous, tense and horrific, with elements of SF, science fantasy and steampunk, A Time of Ashes is a thrilling and wildly imaginative tale of existential discovery: the first part of Fate and the Wheel, a beautifully written epic tale of friendship, loss, revenge, war, and survival against crushing odds.

Perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones series, books by China Miéville, Alastair Reynolds' Terminal World, or Greg Bear's Songs of Earth and Power.

'The rumble of the approaching fire was like something physical. It made his bones vibrate, more insistent by the second until he thought his ears would rupture. Those left on deck not preoccupied with trying to keep the rigging from flying apart watched their nemesis with pop-eyed incantations or yells of terror.'

'Chet knew this rootless, prickling sensation in the pit of his gut. How could he forget? It had consumed him that day on the dais. His first meeting with Murrin – his first real view of the man, his cognast friend Gald's old-man scrawniness making Murrin seem even more absurdly, enduringly massive. He had seemed like something built to last forever. And now he was gone.'

Science Fiction & Fantasy Categories:

·  Horror

·  Mystery

·  Thriller

·  Sword & Sorcery

·  Fantasy Characters/Gods & Goddesses

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155514398
Publisher: Ru Pringle
Publication date: 06/20/2018
Series: Fate and the Wheel , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 829 KB

About the Author

'Ru Pringle is one of the most interesting and exciting new writers to emerge north of the border since Iain Banks' - Gary Gibson, award-nominated author of Angel Stations, Against Gravity and Stealing Light.

'Rudy Rucker on drugs' - BestSF

Ru Pringle has written for a living since his late teens, beginning with regular features in numerous magazines and newspapers. His critically acclaimed early short fiction was published in Interzone. After several years as a touring musician, he published his first two ebooks in the summer of 2018: A Time of Ashes and Hunting Gods, the first parts of the fantasy / sf epic Fate and the Wheel. A dark future thriller, October Song, followed in october 2018. He is currently editing the centuries-spanning space opera Sanctuary for publishing early next year.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews