A Tribute to Curtis Mayfield [Warner Bros.]

A Tribute to Curtis Mayfield [Warner Bros.]


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


A fabulous assortment of artists from different areas of the rock genre give a glorifying tribute to Curtis Mayfield in a sparkling 17-song package. Stevie Winwood does a partying rendition of "It's All Right"; a version of "Let's Do It Again" is performed by Mayfield and the Repercussions that mimics the Staple Singers' original; Mayfield does Roebuck "Pops" Staples' parts. Bruce Springsteen tackles an early Impressions classic, "Gypsy Woman," and makes the mystical song even more eerie. The number of producers equals the artists on this fine production, so the sound changes from track to track. Rocker Lenny Kravitz does "Billy Jack" in a surprising Mayfield-like falsetto. Phil Collins' dead-slow reading of "I've Been Trying" is a subdued dandy. The album's two best performances are pulled off by the Isley Brothers ("I'm So Proud") and Tevin Campbell ("Keep On Pushing"). Ron Isley outdoes himself on Mayfield's pretty classic redefining soul with his emotive phrasings, and Campbell's taking-you-to-church performance of "Keep On Pushing" could inspire the homeless; the cut will make you a Campbell fan if you're not already. The revised Impressions do a remake of their own "I'm a Fool for You" accompanied by Branford Marsalis' jazzy riffs. For blues lovers, B.B. King rocks the house with an up-tempo, jumping "Woman's Got Soul." Stevie Wonder sings an old, obscure Impressions recording, "I'm the One Who Loves You," in the sassy style he exhibited when he was Little Stevie Wonder. Eric Clapton does a rousing version of "You Must Believe Me."

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/1994
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624550020
catalogNumber: 45500
Rank: 69454


  1. Choice of Colors
  2. It's All Right!
  3. Let's Do It Again
  4. Billy Jack
  5. Look into Your Heart
  6. Gypsy Woman
  7. You Must Believe Me
  8. I'm So Proud
  9. Fool for You
  10. Keep on Pushin'
  11. The Makings of You
  12. Woman's Got Soul
  13. People Get Ready
  14. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
  15. I've Been Trying
  16. I'm the One Who Loves You
  17. Amen

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sounds of Blackness   Background Vocals,Track Performer
Jim Capaldi   Drums,Background Vocals
Phil Collins   Multi Instruments,Track Performer
Aretha Franklin   Track Performer
Johnny Gill   Background Vocals
Whitney Houston   Vocals,Track Performer
Impressions   Track Performer
Isley Brothers   Track Performer
Ernie Isley   Electric Guitar
Elton John   Vocals,Track Performer
Gladys Knight   Track Performer
Lenny Kravitz   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Drums,Electric Guitar,Track Performer
Curtis Mayfield   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Bruce Springsteen   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Rod Stewart   Banjo,Vocals,Track Performer
Steve Winwood   Track Performer
Ronnie Wood   Guitar
Kenny Kirkland   Piano
Jeremy Lubbock   Conductor
David Mann   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Sample   Piano
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
Jeff Golub   Guitar
Sal Marquez   Trumpet
Tevin Campbell   Vocals,Track Performer
Arthur Adams   Guitar
Nile Rodgers   Guitar
Sweet Pea Atkinson   Background Vocals
Dave Bargeron   Trombone
Alvino Bennett   Drums
Louis Biancaniello   Drums,Synthesizer Strings
Vernon "Ice" Black   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,wah wah guitar
Harry Bowens   Background Vocals
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Stef Burns   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Reggie Burrell   Background Vocals
Barry Campbell   Bass Guitar
Mike Carabello   Percussion
Emilio Castillo   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Clapton   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
John Clay   Background Vocals
Jim Cregan   Guitar
Terence Trent D'Arby   Background Vocals
Myron Dove   Electric Bass,Fuzz Bass
Voncielle Faggett   Background Vocals
Anton Fig   Drums
Matt Finders   Trombone
Paul Griffin   Organ,Piano,Clavinet
Sandy Griffith   Background Vocals
Richard Hilton   Keyboards
Henry Hirsch   Mellotron
Dann Huff   Guitar
Skyler Jett   Background Vocals
B.B. King   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Robbie Kondor   Keyboards
Stephen "Doc" Kupka   Baritone Saxophone
Will Lee   Bass
Tony Lindsay   Background Vocals
Melecio Magdaluyo   Saxophone
Tony Maiden   Guitar
Mike Mani   Keyboards
Branford Marsalis   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Joe Mardin   Synthesizer,Percussion
Lou Marini   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jonathan Maron   Bass Guitar
Jerry McPherson   Guitar
Narada Michael Walden   Drums,Tambourine,Vocals,Track Performer
Gene Orloff   Concert Master
Phil Parlapiano   Mandolin,Accordion
Darryl Phinnessee   Background Vocals
John Powe   Background Vocals
L.A. Reid   Percussion,Drums
Tony Rich   Keyboards
Claytoven Richardson   Background Vocals
Carmine Rojas   Bass Guitar
Craig Ross   Electric Guitar
Kevin Savigar   Organ,Piano,Accordion
Jackie Simley   Background Vocals
Tommy Sims   Keyboards,Hammond Organ
Genji Siraisi   Drums
Andy Snitzer   Alto Saxophone
David Spinozza   Guitar
Rev. Ron Stallings   Saxophone
Wayne Wallace   Trombone
Martin Wehner   Trombone
Fred White   Background Vocals
Nicole Willis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Angela Winbush   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Stevie Wonder   Vocals,Background Vocals,Multi Instruments,Track Performer
Repercussions   Track Performer
Arnold McCuller   Background Vocals
Don Teschner   Guitar,Mandolin,Violin
Daniel Wyatt   Conga
Scott Barkham   fender rhodes
Gordon "Nappy G" Clay   Percussion,Bongos,Timbales
Andy Faranda   Guitar
Gary Hines   Choir Master
Demetrius Peete   Background Vocals
Robbie Kwock   Trumpet
Kenny Greene   Background Vocals
Buddy Wike   Background Vocals
Greg Adams   Trumpet
"Ready" Freddie Washington   Bass
Dorian Holly   Background Vocals
Dooney Jones   Background Vocals
Louis Fastman   Trumpet
Shawn Powe   Background Vocals
Annie Stovking   Background Vocals
Lee Thorberg   Trumpet
Frank Martin   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Phil Collins   Producer
Gladys Knight   Producer,Executive Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Lenny Kravitz   Producer
Bruce Springsteen   Producer
Steve Winwood   Producer
Jeremy Lubbock   Contributor
Carlos Franzetti   Contributor
Jeff Lorber   Programming
Danny Duncan   MIDI Programming
Nile Rodgers   Producer
Jerry Jordan   Engineer
Conley Abrams   Engineer
Louis Biancaniello   Programming
Mike Dolan   Engineer
John Frye   Engineer
Attala Zane Giles   Producer,rhythm arrangement
Carlos Glover   Engineer
Richard Hilton   Programming
Henry Hirsch   Engineer
Ronald Isley   Arranger,Producer
Gary Katz   Producer
Daren Klein   Engineer
Patrick Leonard   Producer
Stewart Levine   Producer
Gregg Mann   Producer
Branford Marsalis   Producer
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Producer
Narada Michael Walden   Arranger,Producer
Jimmy C. Newman   Executive Producer
Michael O'Reilly   Engineer
Michael Ostin   Executive Producer
Derrick Perkins   Programming
L.A. Reid   Producer
Marc Reyburn   Engineer
Tony Rich   Producer
Elliot Scheiner   Engineer
Toby Scott   Engineer
Tommy Sims   Producer,drum programming
Genji Siraisi   Producer
Patrick Smith   Engineer
Gary Tole   Engineer
Tony Volante   Engineer
Angela Winbush   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
Stevie Wonder   Arranger,Producer
Jim "Z" Zumpano   Engineer
Bert de Coteaux   Horn Arrangements
Repercussions   Producer
Paul Gomersall   Engineer
Daniel Wyatt   Producer
Ron Weisner   Executive Producer
David Frazer   Engineer
Greg Adams   Horn Arrangements
Van Arden   Engineer
Linda C. Cobb   Art Direction
Andrew T. Brown   Engineer
Jeff Taylor   Engineer

Customer Reviews