A Tribute to Reggae's Keyboard King: Jackie Mittoo

A Tribute to Reggae's Keyboard King: Jackie Mittoo

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$10.44 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Most casual reggae fans won't recognize his name, but the late keyboardist Jackie Mittoo probably did as much as any other artist to shape the sound of reggae in its formative years and to guide it through its mature period. As a founding member of the Skatalites, he helped bring ska to its fully developed sound, and then ushered in the rocksteady period; as the in-house music director at Studio One, he mentored and supported such seminal artists as Leroy Sibbles (of the Heptones) and Alton Ellis, and provided both keyboards and arrangements for the Soul Vendors and Sound Dimension. In short, many of the artists most well-known to and beloved of reggae fans were shaped significantly by the musical guidance of Jackie Mittoo. This compilation is a warm and loving tribute, featuring new instrumental arrangements of 18 of Mittoo's most popular and enduring tunes, each of them featuring a pianist or organist who was influenced by Mittoo's playing and writing -- these include Jamaican jazz legend Monty Alexander (on a gorgeous rendition of "Evening Time"), Gladstone Anderson ("Full Charge"), Wailers alumnus Tyrone Downie ("Mission Impossible"), and Robbie Lyn ("Autumn Sounds"). Producers Christopher Chin and Donald Clive Davidson provide respectfully rootswise rhythms that get perhaps just a bit samey by the end of the long program, but never fail to provide a perfect setting for the featured players. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/16/2004
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645167512
catalogNumber: 1675

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Monty Alexander   Piano,Melodica
Ansel Collins   Organ
Gladstone Anderson   Piano
Wayne Armond   Guitar
Peter Ashbourne   Piano
Dalton Browne   Guitar
Glen Browne   Bass
Harold Butler   Organ
Mikey Chung   Guitar
Donald Dennis   Bass
Lloyd Denton   Piano
Tyrone Downie   Organ
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Dean Fraser   Saxophone
Maurice Gordon   Guitar
Alvin Haughton   Percussion
Neville Hinds   Organ
Robert Lyn   Organ,Piano
David Madden   Trumpet
Leebert Morrison   Guitar
Dwight Pinkney   Guitar
Ronald "Nambo" Robinson   Trombone
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Keith Sterling   Organ
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Sidney Thorpe   Organ
Mallory Williams   Organ
Paul Crossdale   Organ
Marjorie Whylie   Piano
Mitchum Chin   Guitar
Ibo Cooper   Organ
Winston "Bo Peep" Bowen   Guitar
Errol Hird   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Jimmy Cliff   Composer
Dean Fraser   Producer
Neville Hinds   Liner Notes
Jackie Mittoo   Composer
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer
Paul Crossdale   Liner Notes
Rohan Dwyer   Engineer
Marjorie Whylie   Liner Notes
Ronald Davidson   Art Direction
John Nash   Liner Notes
Winston Blake   Liner Notes
Dave Peck   Composer
Joe Isaacs   Liner Notes
Keith Anderson   Liner Notes
Carol Ann Brown   Liner Notes
C. Alexander Brown   Liner Notes
Roy Sweetland   Liner Notes
Jackie Estick   Composer
Donald Clive Davidson   Liner Notes,Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews