A Whole New Thing

A Whole New Thing

by Sly & The Family Stone


View All Available Formats & Editions


Sly & the Family Stone's debut album is more restrained and not nearly as funky or psychedelic as their subsequent efforts, owing far more to traditional soul arrangements. These aren't that traditional, though; Sly is already using goofier and/or more thoughtful lyrics than the soul norm, and taking some cues from rock in his adventurous and unexpected song construction. The Family Stone, similarly, aren't as innovative as they would shortly become, but are already a tight unit, particularly in the interplay between lead and backup vocals and the sharp horn riffs.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2007
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886978772121
catalogNumber: 787721


  1. Underdog
  2. If This Room Could Talk
  3. Run, Run, Run
  4. Turn Me Loose
  5. Let Me Hear It From You
  6. Advice
  7. I Cannot Make It
  8. Trip To Your Heart
  9. I Hate To Love Her
  10. Bad Risk
  11. That Kind Of Person
  12. Dog
  13. What Would I Do

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews