A Wild Life: My Adventures Around the World Filming Wildlife

A Wild Life: My Adventures Around the World Filming Wildlife

by Martin Hughes-Games


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The frozen wastes of the Southern Ocean; the tropical rainforests of South America, the scorching grasslands of Africa, the dizzy heights of the snow-capped peaks of the Himalayas: Martin Hughes-Games has been to every continent on earth filming natural history programmes. A Wild Life is Martin's personal account of his astonishing adventures around the world, both as a presenter for the BBC and a producer of nature documentaries.

We all know Martin as a member of Springwatch and Autumnwatch team, but before his presenting days he spent many years behind the camera producing up-close-and-personal wildlife documentaries on location often in perilous conditions. During a career spanning more than three decades, he has captured the extraordinary life and diversity of the animal kingdom on film - from bloodthirsty bats and man-eating tigers, to huge elephant seals and tiny but ever so painful centipedes.

Warmly told with humour and an inimitable style, and packed with insightful facts from the natural world - how fast is the fastest creature on earth, the peregrine falcon? How high can a bird, the bar headed goose on migration, really fly? - A Wild Life has to be one of the natural history books of the year.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472114440
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 04/26/2016
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 7.70(w) x 4.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

MARTIN HUGHES-GAMES co-presents the BBC's Springwatch and Autumnwatch programmes, having worked in television for over 30 years. He trained as a zoologist before joining the BBC science department as a producer. He is also an obsessive motorcyclist, passionate climber and chicken fancier.


Table of Contents

1 Flying with Falcons 1

2 Sailing the Southern Ocean 15

3 The Incontinent Society of Mallaig 31

4 Vampires! 48

5 The Hunt for 'Jaws' 62

6 'The Bite of the Giant Centipede' 79

7 On the Roof of the World 90

8 Crocodile Attack 111

9 Bird Strike 125

10 Rolling Cars up the Top End 139

11 In Polar Bear Country 149

12 Swimming with Elephants 166

13 Nuna Bhale - Walking with a Man-Eating Tiger 180

14 Running with Reindeer 196

15 Mysteries and Legends of the Amazon 210

16 Conversations with Mahouts 225

17 African Wild Dogs 240

Acknowledgments 261

Customer Reviews