Pub. Date:
A Wonder Book - Illustrated by Arthur Rackham

A Wonder Book - Illustrated by Arthur Rackham

by Nathaniel Hawthorne, Arthur Rackham

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys' is a book written by American author Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 – 1864), and is followed by the sequel, 'Tanglewood Tales'. It is a masterful re-writing of well-known Greek myths, bringing literary classics to children. The stories are all stories within a story; told by Eustace Bright, a college student from Massachusetts, telling the tales to a group of young listeners. It contains the myths of ‘The Gorgon’s Head’, ‘The Golden Touch’, ‘The Paradise of Children’, ‘The Three Golden Apples’, ‘The Miraculous Pitcher’, and ‘The Chimaera’. This edition of Hawthorne’s 'Wonder Book' further contains a series of dazzling colour and black-and-white illustrations – by a pioneer of the craft; Arthur Rackham. One of the most celebrated painters of the British Golden Age of Illustration (which encompassed the years from 1850 until the start of the First World War), Rackham’s artistry is quite simply, unparalleled. Throughout his career, he developed a unique style, combining haunting humour with dream-like romance. Appearing alongside the text, his illustrations further refine and elucidate Nathaniel Hawthorne’s captivating storytelling. Pook Press celebrates the great ‘Golden Age of Illustration‘ in children’s literature – a period of unparalleled excellence in book illustration. We publish rare and vintage Golden Age illustrated books, in high-quality colour editions, so that the masterful artwork and story-telling can continue to delight both young and old.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781473384903
Publisher: Read Books Ltd.
Publication date: 04/16/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 236
File size: 5 MB
Age Range: 5 - 17 Years

About the Author

One of the greatest authors in American literature, Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was a novelist and short story writer born in Salem, Massachusetts. Hawthorne’s best-known books include The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter, works marked by a psychological depth and moral insight seldom equaled by other writers.

Date of Birth:

July 4, 1804

Date of Death:

May 19, 1864

Place of Birth:

Salem, Massachusetts

Place of Death:

Plymouth, New Hampshire


Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, 1824

Customer Reviews