A Year with Winker Leafkin: Twelve Adventures of an American Elf

A Year with Winker Leafkin: Twelve Adventures of an American Elf

by Arlene L. Williams

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Long ago, America was settled not only by Europeans crossing the great ocean, but small, enchanted folk like fairies, dwarfs, and elves. Deep in the forest, they set up hidden communities that spread and flourished. In time, it was possible to find, almost anywhere, swarms of fairies flying beneath the woodland canopy or tiny elves scurrying through the underbrush. And one of them went by the name of Winker Leafkin�.

This book shares twelve exciting adventures of Winker Leafkin as this tiny elf plunges headlong into trouble and magically finds his way out again. Winker battles storm-tossed seas, gets mistaken for a leprechaun, and makes the fireflies dance. He is always hiding from humans, or escaping from them. With each predicament he finds himself in, the young elf grows a bit wiser than before, but that never stops the fun with Winker Leafkin.

Each story relates to a month of the year. Many relate to holidays: New Year�s Day, Groundhog�s Day, St. Patrick�s Day, April Fool�s Day, May Day, Independence Day, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Story Titles:
The New Year Flute
The Groundhog�s Shadow
The Leprechaun�s Shoes
The April Fool
May Wood Night
Midsummer Melody
Yankee Doodle Spies
There Once Was a Birthday
Lesson Plans
Snap Apple Halloween
The Thanksgiving Place
The Christmas Stone

The book contains 36 color illustrations and makes great bedtime reading for children from five to nine. It can also be used in the classroom for fun holiday-themed reading. Each story has a short note concerning interesting facts about Colonial America or natural history.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149278664
Publisher: The Waking Light Press
Publication date: 03/16/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 4 MB
Age Range: 6 - 8 Years

About the Author

Arlene Williams is a graphic designer and has been writing children's books for over twenty years. She loves to write tales of fantasy and adventure that are both fun and uplifting. Several of her books have won honors and awards, including the children's picture book "Dragon Soup" and "Tales from the Dragon's Cave." Other popular titles include: A Fire in the Night; Winker, Buttercup and Blue; How to be a Dragon... without burning your tongue (young adult); and Simmie with Secrets.

Customer Reviews