Abarat

Abarat

by Clive Barker
4.7 227

Paperback

$15.50
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Abarat 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 228 reviews.
Charli_Girl More than 1 year ago
To be honest I don't understand why The Books of the Abarat haven't become the next big thing in the book world. I am a huge Harry Potter Fan and this was my Fantasy fix after I was done with HP. The first Book of the Abarat was beautifully written and was so colorful that you really feel like you are in the story with Candy. I read the paperback version that didn't have any of the art in it but that was a mistake because when I read the second one (Days of Magic Nights of War) it was so thrilling to see where Clive Barker was getting all these great characters and places from. In fact I did a little looking and the paintings came before the book!! Clive Barker is one of the greatest writers of our time and takes inspiration for The Books of Abarat from two of the greatest fantasy writers in History, J.R.R Tolkien and C.S. Lewis and combines his own creative genius to make a world that is so completely different from our own that it is almost hard to conceive, but is so well described and detailed that it stands out vividly in your mind as though you have been there. A must read for EVERYONE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The print version of this book is replete with graphics. The ebook has none. The eboo is, thus, pretty much a waste of money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books of all time, I was so dissappointed to see that the graphics DO NOT come with this e-book version.
MacReady82 More than 1 year ago
Clive Barker, once hailed in the 80's as the successor to Stephen King, has embarked on a five book series that feasts upon our imaginations and holds both young and old in thrall to its spell. This is the perfect fantasy adventure (with only a smidgin of Barker's trademark terror beats) for ages 11-81. Books 1 and 2 are available in gorgeous hardcover and paperback editions, with Book 3 anticipated sometime in 2010. (The last two volumes will follow, presumably before I turn 40.) Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Bella Swann and other youthful protagonists will find much to admire and delight in with this epic-crafted yarn. Fall into the world of the Abarat; it's a journey you won't regret taking.
blah-blah-blah More than 1 year ago
Abarat Clive Barker Genre: Fantasy The book Abarat is about a girl who discovers a world outside our own. The girl, Candy, leaves home with a mysterious man named Mischief while trying to escape an evil man named Shape by diving into the Sea Izabella. Once she dives into the sea with Mischief, she knows that she is no longer in her home town but instead in a completely new world called the Abarat. The main character in this story is Candy Quackenbush. In our world, she is strange and doesn't fit in. But in Abarat, she feels like she's been there before. In the book, the author shapes her into a girl who has strong feelings for people she hasn't even known for that long. She tries to help out other people more then she helps out herself. There are plenty of other characters in this book but Candy is the main one. In this book, setting is everything. The story wouldn't be right if it was in another place. The Abarat is made up of twenty five different islands that all symbolize the twenty for hours of the day and also the twenty fifth hour. All of the islands are very different because there is an island for every hour of the day. The setting of this story creates major conflicts for Candy and her companions that help her along her journey. The different islands are all very mysterious to her and danger hides around every corner. The point of view in this story is probably first person. Throughout the book, the point of view changes between the different characters. Usually the narrator is very reliable and gives us a lot of insight when it comes to their actions and what they are thinking. I think that if the point of view was any different it might lose some important information that is needed to understand the book well. I like how the author created a entirely different world from our own. He made everything completely different for our world. I also liked how he described the people in the book so well and he also included some pictures to help make them real. But I didn't like how the author left things untold in the end. I would have liked it if he at least wrapped up a few things at the end of the book. Also, I didn't how he made the main character kind of unbelievable. She seemed too worried about other people instead of herself and most people aren't like that. But in all I would recommend this book to anyone who likes the mysterious, fantasy, and action type of books.
Lillian_Evening More than 1 year ago
one of the best stories i've ever read. it recalls Alice in Wonderland. it's beautiful and the illustrations are magical.
Mleechap More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well built, as well as the plot. Clive's words really jump off the page as vivid pictures in your mind! I highly recomend this to any fan of fantasy works. Disney has decided to make this series into movies, I cant wait! Hopefully book 3 will be out soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was younger, but it still has a special place in my heart. What person has never felt like they didn't belong and how wonderful would it be if everyone had their own world of the Abarat islands? Barker pours his soul into this story with his own illustrations which are so beautiful. I have a copy of the book since black and white does not do these paintigs justice. For any young reader or dreaming adult this book is a wonderful read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i have ever read I recomend this to anyone Who likes fantasy adventure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wa svery interesting an dfull of suprises thi sbook i sa about a girl named candy qauckenbush who live sin chickentown sh ewas brought to a place called abarat by a man named john mischief and his brothers who live on his antlers on the way she meet some very strange people and goes to many different places she learns that abarat is made up of islands that represent each hour of the day. I dont want to spoil this book so i will stop!Read the book i tis good an donce you start reading it you cant stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate it when on the nook it doesnt explain what is happening in the book will someone please give me a over view please?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this series as a teenager and still love it as an adult. It's reminiscent of Frank L. Baum's Oz books but even more strange and vivid. Not only are the books witty and well written but as an added bonus there's gorgeous artwork. The audio version of this is very well done too. It's a family favorite for road trips.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I HAVE READ THIS BOOK A MILLION TIMES I LOVE IT AS MUCH AS HOMESTUCK <3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Superbly imaginative and there is no other book quite like it. The characters develop incredibly throughout this book. I couldn't wait for the second one to be released
child_of_midian More than 1 year ago
Clive Barkers tale of a girl named Candy (Quakenbush of all things) from Chickentown (yep, really) would go down easier if the names where more in line with the age of the audience and not 3 yr olds. Simply put Candy inadvertently opens a gate between our world and the world of Abarat where each Island is 1 hour of the day perpetually. The book is fantastical and epic in scope and the print version has hundreds of original paintings (the NOOK version is a waste, text only) but it's hard to feel an emotional attachment to Candy, she's a fairly distant character and she never feels fully fleshed out. There's a lot going on and plenty of action and fantasy but I had a hard time really caring about what was happening. In all other ways I'm very fond of Clive's work and he continues to be my favorite author, but this one lacks the suspense and tension of even The Thief of Always and until Candy connects to something it'll be hard to connect to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the whole book could not put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago