About Anna...

About Anna...

by Sophia Delanner

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.98
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

About Anna... by Sophia Delanner

Silver medal winner of the 28th (2016) Benjamin Franklin Awards for Best New Voice in Fiction.
Gold medal winner of the 4th (2015) Beverly Hills International Book Awards for Literary Fiction.
Gold medal winner of the 2016 Next Generation Indie Book Awards for First Novel.

Anna, who has always lived under the microscopic judgment of her narcissistic mother, is a Russian immigrant on the verge of turning forty and a single mother of a headstrong teenage daughter. After a life-long succession of regrettable choices and a slew of bad relationships, Anna gives up hope of finding her better half--until she meets David. Their all-consuming love seems timeless and everlasting, but both of their pasts just might destroy their future.

A moving tale of three generations of Russian women living in New York City, of fate and love, of bonds that shape and shadow our lives. Crossing generations and continents, Sophia's narrative details, with uncompromising candor, the joys and hardships of an immigrant renting an apartment in a shabby-chic neighborhood, where the long-buried tensions that fester among families begin to surface in unexpected ways and change the family forever.

Engrossing, unpredictable, and moving, the novel will make you laugh out loud one moment and swallow back tears the next. In the vein of Vladimir Nabokov, Mikhail Bulgakov, and Leo Tolstoy, About Anna... presents a rich narrative about a life in which the road to forgiveness is hard--and the path to self-acceptance is even harder. Delanner's complex characters will resonate with you long after the final page is turned.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149955220
Publisher: Infinity House
Publication date: 01/21/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 360
File size: 569 KB

About the Author

Born under a totalitarian regime in the Soviet Union to a dysfunctional family, Sophia Michelle Delanner was brought into the world with an intense lust for life and an incorrigible need to understand how the universe works. Although she currently lives in New York City, she has lived in England and Germany. These rich experiences have allowed her to observe people and their cultures as she searched for ever-elusive happiness. The result is her literary novel ABOUT ANNA…

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews