Acoustic, Vol. 3

Acoustic, Vol. 3


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Acoustic, Vol. 3

The third installment in V2's ongoing series of unplugged performances by old and new alternative and indie rock artists, Acoustic, Vol. 3 gathers two more discs' worth of songs by artists including Starsailor, Grand Drive, Elbow, Eva Cassidy, and Stereophonics. The set plays a little bit fast and loose with their definition of "acoustic," but the inclusion of songs such as Zero 7's "Destiny (Acoustic Mix)" and Moloko's "Familiar Feeling (Plankton's Country Slice Remix)," work because they fit the collection's overall mellow mood and add to its diversity. And Acoustic, Vol. 3 is nothing if not diverse, spanning Brit-pop and proto-Brit-pop with Oasis' "Songbird" and The La's' "There She Goes"; the experimental folk-pop of I Am Kloot's "Untitled #1"; delicate singer/songwriter-isms like Brendan Benson's "Life in the D," and Baby Bird's "There's Something Going On"; and the postmodern Brazilian pop of Bebel Gilberto's "August Day Song" in the first disc alone. Disc Two is a little more traditional, offering classics such as The Velvet Underground and Nico's "Sunday Morning," Leonard Cohen's "So Long Marianne," the Flying Burrito Brothers' "Hot Burrito #1," and Bob Dylan's "She Belongs to Me," as well as songs by like-minded contemporary artists, including Jeff Buckley's "Lilac Wine," Ryan Adams' "In My Time of Need," and Ron Sexsmith's "Thumbelina Farewell." Other highlights include Beth Gibbons & Rustin Man's "Mysteries," Mercury Rev's "Goddess on a Hiway," and the Bees' "A Minha Menina." While Acoustic, Vol. 3 doesn't offer any exclusive tracks, it is a thoughtfully compiled collection that works equally well as a mood piece or as an introduction to some of the more obscure bands included on it.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2003
Label: V2 Int'l
UPC: 5027529005625
catalogNumber: 90056

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sophie Barker   Vocals
Paul Butler   Group Member
Alan Simpson   Guitar
Grant Nicholas   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Sia   Vocals
Aaron Fletcher   Group Member
Taka Hirose   Bass
Peter Trotman   Bass
Mark Richardson   Drums

Technical Credits

Leonard Cohen   Composer
Jorge Ben   Composer
John Cale   Composer
Danny Wilson   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Cyndi Lauper   Composer
Gram Parsons   Composer
Lou Reed   Composer
Velvet Underground   Arranger
Neil Young   Composer
David Charles   Engineer
Oasis   Producer
Scott Alexander   Producer
Bob Andrews   Producer
Michael Andrews   Composer
Sophie Barker   Composer
John Brand   Producer
Mark Brydon   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Paul Butler   Engineer
Jim Cregan   Producer
Dido   Producer
Jonathan Donahue   Composer,Producer
Chris Ethridge   Composer
Dave Fridmann   Producer
Bebel Gilberto   Composer
Chris Hughes   Producer
Rob Hyman   Composer
Lee Jones   Composer,Producer
Kevin Killen   Engineer
Henry Lewy   Producer
Larry Marks   Producer
McDonald   Composer
Rick Nowels   Producer
Roland Orzabal   Composer
Steve Osborne   Producer
Rick Parashar   Producer
Chris Potter   Producer
Paul Statham   Composer
Paul Webb   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Tom Wilson   Producer
Darren Woodford   Concept
Henry Binns   Composer
Liam Gallagher   Composer
Sam Hardaker   Composer
Chris Franck   Composer
P. Angel Gabriel   Composer
Peter Norris   Producer
Beth Orton   Composer
Beth Gibbons   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Brendan Benson   Composer,Producer
Lee Mavers   Composer
Kurt Wagner   Composer
Subcircus   Composer
James Alan Shelton   Composer
Paul Godfrey   Composer
Stephen Jones   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Ross Godfrey   Composer
Skye Edwards   Composer
Jez Williams   Composer,Producer
Matthew Sime   Producer
Hugo Nicholson   Engineer
Kyp Harness   Composer
Nic Moran   Concept
Ryan Adams   Composer
Max Hayes   Programming,Producer
Grant Nicholas   Composer,Producer
Dido Armstrong   Composer
Róisín Murphy   Composer
Sia   Composer
Nickelback   Composer
Aaron Fletcher   Engineer
Chad Kroeger   Composer
Nina Miranda   Composer
Guy Garvey   Composer
Jimi Goodwin   Composer,Producer
Zero 7   Producer
Tom McRae   Composer,Producer
Andy Williams   Producer
Jim James   Composer,Producer
Starsailor   Composer
Matt Lawrence   Engineer
Damien Rice   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Arnold Bramwell   Composer
Big Active   Art Direction
John Harold   Composer
Tony Marrison   Producer
Rachel Mari Kimber   Composer,Producer
Hugo Turquet   Concept
Martin O'Donnell   Concept

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews