Adagios for Organ

Adagios for Organ


$13.11 $14.95 Save 12% Current price is $13.11, Original price is $14.95. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Adagios for Organ by Rollin Smith

Intermediate and experienced organists will prize this appealing original collection of organ works in slow tempo. Its forty-three adagios range from the Baroque era to modern times, offering a tremendous variety of pieces for public and private performance.
Highlights include works by such celebrated composers for organ as Johann Sebastian Bach ("Hark! A Voice Saith, All Are Mortal," BWV 643), Alexandre Guilmant (Méditation and Adagio, from Sonata No. 6, Op. 86), Louis Vierne (Prélude Funèbre, Op. 4), and Charles-Marie Widor (Adagio from Symphonie No. 5, Op. 42-1). Other pieces include the popular Largo from Handel's 1738 opera, Xerxes; Liszt's tribute to his friend, "At the Grave of Richard Wagner"; and pieces by Brahms, Couperin, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Schumann, Saint-Saëns, and others. Editor Rollin Smith provides notes on the music, with background information on each piece.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486457345
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 06/26/2007
Series: Dover Music for Organ Series
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 8.90(w) x 11.90(h) x 0.20(d)

About the Author

A well-known performer as well as an internationally renowned scholar, Rollin Smith has compiled and edited 14 other popular Dover organ books.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews