by Catherine Moorhouse

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


After the death of her father, Adriana Bancroft sets off to find her twin brother, Tate, missing in action in Portugal during the Napoleonic War. Disguising herself as a boy, she finds a position taking care of an unhappy young child - cousin and heir to Sir Nicholas Laidley. This attractive gentleman's enjoyment of "Adrian's" company is surpassed only by his disdain for women, especially the beauty who jilted him as a young man. But Laidley is Adriana's only source of information about her missing brother, so how can she destroy their "friendship" by revealing her true identity? And how can she keep from falling in love with him?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148933052
Publisher: Elf Enterprises, LLC
Publication date: 12/07/2013
Series: Catherine Moorhouse Regency Trilogy , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 495 KB

About the Author

Catherine Moorhouse is the pseudonym of Dorothea Jensen and Catherine Allen. Both women were Jane Austen fans, and felt that they could write a better faux Austen novel than those which were popular in the 1980s. Despite the fact that they lived hundreds of miles apart, together they wrote three romantic comedies set in Regency England, under the pen name Catherine Moorhouse. Adriana, Louisa, and Dorothea were published in 1983 and elicited excellent reviews. Collaborating again nearly thirty years later, Dorothea and Catherine recently revised the Catherine Moorhouse Regency Trilogy and adapted the three romantic comedies as E-books. In doing so, they discovered that collaboration is far easier today, using computers, e-mail, and the internet, than it was three decades ago, using typewriters, carbon paper, and the U.S. Mail.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews