Affinity-Origins: The Baskervilles 1965

Affinity-Origins: The Baskervilles 1965

by Affinity


$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Affinity-Origins: The Baskervilles 1965

At first glance this doesn't look a very promising release; for starters, the only future Affinity member within is Mo Foster, and he's playing drums. Besides, the Baskervilles were no more than a short-lived college covers band, and the bulk of the group members left music swiftly behind once they gained their degrees. That's a great pity, because they were astonishingly accomplished -- even Foster, who learned drums while playing them here. As was the fashion in those days, the Baskervilles faithfully echoed as closely as possible the original style and feel of the songs, yet their repertoire was diverse enough to showcase their jazz, blues, surf, and R&B influences. Their steaming "Freight Train," scorching "Summertime Blues," thundering "Peggy Sue Got Married," and exuberant "Hallelujah I Love Her So" show where their real sympathies lay. The group's take on "Get Off of My Cloud" comes close to rivaling the Rolling Stones, whom they promptly snookered by using the song as the opening of a medley comprising more saccharine fare. Just as amusing is the Baskervilles' recorder-led stab at "Take Five," or Foster exuberantly battering about on his kit on "I Feel Fine." More telling is the slight surf twist Kris Johnson gives "She's Not There," a trick he successfully employs elsewhere on the set, and reaches an apotheosis on the rehearsal version of "Perfidia." Apparently, though, the Baskervilles never attempted any original numbers, happy just to reproduce others' hits in the band's own indomitable manner. The bulk of this CD was recorded live at two school functions, and their school chums seem appreciative of their efforts. They should have been far more impressed.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/21/2007
Label: Angel Air
UPC: 5055011702387
catalogNumber: 238
Rank: 94872


  1. She's Not There
  2. I Feel Fine
  3. It's Good News Week
  4. Mr. Tambourine Man
  5. I Saw Her Standing There
  6. Hallelulah I Love Her So
  7. Freight Train
  8. Love Potion No. 9
  9. You Like Me Too Much
  10. Day Tripper
  11. We Can Work It Out
  12. Peggy Sue Got Married
  13. I Can't Get No Satisfaction
  14. Yesterday
  15. Bumble Bee
  16. Perfidia
  17. Another Girl
  18. Summertime Blues
  19. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
  20. Get Off of My Cloud
  21. Sweets for My Sweet
  22. Hang on Sloopy
  23. Get Off of My Cloud
  24. Mr. Tambourine Man
  25. Always Something There to Remind Me
  26. You Like Me Too Much
  27. Perfidia
  28. Trains and Boats and Planes
  29. The Last Time
  30. Hey You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  31. Take Five
  32. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews