The African Americans

The African Americans

by Rodney P. Carlisle




As a result of the slave trade, through which the vast majority of African immigrants were involuntarily transported to America, the history of African Americans is one rooted in controversy and strife. After the Civil War, as a result of which the institution of slavery was abolished in the United States, African Americans began the struggle for civil rights and social and cultural equality, a struggle that continues to this day, despite the gains of the Civil Rights movement of the 1960s. The 2008 election of Barack Obama to the U. S. presidency is a hopeful sign, however, of the amalgamation of African-American interests in the U.S. political system.

The Multicultural America series offers students and general readers a fascinating glimpse into the history of different ethnic groups in the United States. The focus of the set is on the social history, customs, and traditions of immigrants across American history. Each volume examines a specific ethnic group and presents a remarkable array of valuable information, covering everything from food, dress, entertainment, work, education, popular pastimes, political activity, and contributions and conflicts in American society. In an engaging, informative manner, each volume describes what members of a group found when they first arrived in the United States up to their current status in American society.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780816078134
Publisher: Facts on File, Incorporated
Publication date: 04/01/2011
Series: Multicultural America Series
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

Table of Contents

Preface vii

1 The Colonial Era: Beginnings to 1776 1

2 The American Revolution: 1775 to 1783 21

3 The Early National Period and Expansion: 1783 to 1859 37

4 The Civil War to the Gilded Age: 1859 to 1900 57

5 The Progressive Era and World War I: 1900 to 1920 77

6 The Roaring Twenties and the Great Depression: 1920 to 1939 95

7 World War II and the Forties: 1939 to 1949 117

8 The Civil Rights Era: 1950 to 1969 139

9 A Changing Community: 1970 to 1989 167

10 Black America Today: 1990 to the Present 191

Glossary 209

Index 215

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews