After: The Shock

After: The Shock

by Scott Nicholson

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


"Nobody thrills like Nicholson does. Nobody." - J.A. Konrath, Origin

The first book in the AFTER post-apocalyptic thriller series from an international bestselling author.


A massive solar storm erases the world's technological infrastructure and kills billions. While the survivors struggle to adapt , they discover some among them have...changed.

Rachel Wheeler finds herself alone in the city, where violent survivors known as "Zapheads" roam the streets, killing and destroying. Her only hope is to reach the mountains, where her grandfather, a legendary survivalist, established a compound in preparation for Doomsday.

Other survivors are fleeing the city, but Zapheads aren't the only danger. Rogue bands of military soldiers want to impose their own order in the crumbling ruins of civilization. When Rachel discovers a 10-year-old boy, she vows to care for him even if it means her own chances of escaping are lower.

And the Zapheads that were once simple to evade are evolving, developing communal skills even as they lay waste to the society they will eventually replace.
Look for the other books in the series, After #2: The Echo, After #3: Milepost 291, After #4: Whiteout, and After #5: Red Scare.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150648234
Publisher: Haunted Computer Books
Publication date: 08/16/2014
Series: After , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 290
Sales rank: 34,112
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Scott Nicholson is the international bestselling author of more than 30 thrillers, including the Stoker Award finalist The Red Church, The Harvest, and Creative Spirit. His website is

Customer Reviews