The Afterlife

The Afterlife

by Larry Levis




A reissuing of The Afterlife, poetry by Larry Levis.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780887482793
Publisher: Carnegie-Mellon University Press
Publication date: 10/01/1998
Series: Carnegie Mellon Classic Contemporary Series: Poetry
Pages: 64
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 9.25(h) x 0.20(d)

About the Author

LARRY LEVIS was born in Fresno, California, on September 30, 1946, and was educated at California State University at Fresno (BA), Syracuse University (MA), and the University of Iowa (PhD). He published five collections of poems during his life, Wrecking Crew (1972), The Afterlife (1977), The Dollmaker’s Ghost (1981), Winter Stars (1985), and The Widening Spell of the Leaves(1991), as well as a collection of stories, Black Freckles (1992). A posthumous book of poems, Elegy, was published in 1997. At the time of his death in May 1996, he was Professor of English at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia, and he had taught previously at the University of Missouri, the University of Utah, the University of Iowa, and in the Warren Wilson Creative Writing Program. His awards included the United States Award of International Poetry Forum, the Lamont Prize, and selection in the National Poetry Series. He received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and Guggenheim Foundation, and an individual artist’s grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts. In 1989, he was a Senior Fulbright Fellow in Yugoslavia. His work appeared in American Poetry Review, The Southern Review, Field, and The Iowa Review, as well as in numerous other magazines.

Table of Contents

Rhododendrons • Delwyn Creed • Elegy • The Witness • The Double • Signs Inventing the Toucan • In a Country • The Map • Waking • Readings in French • The Invention of Maps • A Poem of Horses • The Crimes of the Shade Trees • The Morning After My Death • In Captivity The Rain’s Witness: Linnets 1-12

Customer Reviews