Ain't She Sweet!

Ain't She Sweet!

by Pearl BaileyPearl Bailey


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


Jasmine presents a casual overview of selections from Pearl Bailey's first ten years as a recording artist (1945-1955). Picking up where Fats Waller left off, this gorgeous, powerful, and witty woman dismantled all kinds of long-established presentational conventions by half-singing, half-talking her way through every song she ever handled. On this compilation the two best examples of her as a solo act are "I Ain't Talkin'" and "Solid Gold Cadillac." Pearl's collaborations with the Charioteers are fun and her rowdy duets with Hot Lips Page are delightful; "The Hucklebuck" is an intimate riot and "It's a Great Feeling" successfully conveys the optimistic joy of mutual love and affection. "Saturday Night Fish Fry" appears to be a long-lost rehearsal take of the famous Pearl Bailey/Jackie "Moms" Mabley duet of 1949. The inclusion of these wonderful recordings places this little anthology among the best entries in Pearl Bailey's digital discography.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/14/2000
Label: Jasmine Music
UPC: 0604988038125
catalogNumber: 381
Rank: 91638


  1. Saturday Night Fish Fry
  2. The Hucklebuck
  3. Ain't She Sweet?
  4. Who?
  5. Don't Ever Leave Me
  6. I Ain't Talkin' (Though It's All over Town)
  7. Legalize My Name
  8. Get It off Your Mind
  9. I Need Ya Like I Need a Hole in the Head
  10. Fifteen Years (And I'm Still Serving Time)
  11. It's a Great Feeling
  12. Row, Row, Row
  13. Frankie and Johnny
  14. St. Louis Blues
  15. That's Good Enough for Me
  16. It's a Woman's Prerogative
  17. Personality
  18. He Didn't Ask Me
  19. Tired
  20. Here You Come With Love
  21. Baby, It's Cold Outside
  22. Solid Gold Cadillac
  23. Hit the Road to Dreamland

Album Credits

Customer Reviews