All a Man Should Do

All a Man Should Do

by Lucero


$19.94 $20.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


All a Man Should Do

Sometimes a man wants to rock out, and other times he wants to sit back with a beer and think about where life has been leading him. Lucero are clearly in the latter mood on All a Man Should Do, which is the most subdued and contemplative album the Memphis-based band has delivered in some time. The songs and the performances are no less passionate than Lucero has ever been, but while this band usually hits like a Dixie-fried fusion of Bruce Springsteen and the Replacements, All a Man Should Do is an album about reflection and even remorse, pondering love that's gone wrong ("They Called Her Killer," "Baby, Don't You Want Me") and places and people that are no longer what they used to be ("Went Looking for Warren Zevon's Los Angeles," "Woke Up in New Orleans"), and the introspective middle-of-the-night feel of these sessions rings as true as the band's most rollicking material. The raspy twang of Ben Nichols' voice never sounds anything less than honest, especially on this material, and Rick Steff's piano and keyboards take a larger place in the arrangements here, with his emphatically placed notes adding just the right high lonesome accent. And if this doesn't always sound like full-on rock & roll, the muscular R&B groove of "Throwback No. 2" and the distant thunder of "Can't You Hear Them Howl" are on hand to remind us these guys haven't gone soft. (They also manage that rare feat of covering Big Star and finding something new in the song with their version of "I'm in Love with a Girl," which features backing vocals from founding Big Star member Jody Stephens.) Saying All a Man Should Do is a more mature effort from Lucero sells short the street smarts and emotional wisdom of their previous work, but this album does find the fine band reaching for something different, and they hit their target with skill, assurance, and clarity.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 5414939927010
catalogNumber: 5027242
Rank: 54899

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lucero   Primary Artist
Jon Auer   Background Vocals
Jim Spake   Saxophone
Jody Stephens   Background Vocals
Ken Stringfellow   Background Vocals
Rick Steff   Piano,Accordion,Hammond Organ
Roy Berry   Drums
John C. Stubblefield   Bass
Ben Nichols   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Brian Venable   Electric Guitar
Randy Ballard   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Shontelle Norman   Background Vocals
Sharese Norman   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Alex Chilton   Composer
Joseph Brown   Live Sound
Robert Hall   Drum Technician
Chris Scott   Pre-production Engineer
Ted Hutt   Producer
Ben Nichols   Composer
Ryan Mall   Engineer
Matthew Cole   Layout
Joel Gradinger   Guitar Techician
Jimmy Perlman   Tour Manager
Mary Chamberlin   Art Direction,Merchandising
Matthew Bradley   Paintings,Cover Art

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews