All about Seduction

All about Seduction

by Katy Madison

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

“Madison is definitely an author to watch.”
Romance Reviews Today

One of the most exciting new talents in historical romance fiction, Katy Madison returns with All About Seduction—a magnificent second novel as glorious as her first, Tainted by Temptation (“A firecracker of a book!” —Anna Campbell). A bewitching gothic novel set in Victorian England—ideal for fans of Amanda Quick and Elizabeth Hoyt—All About Seduction captivates from the very first page with a dark and sensuous tale of a woman who has lived her life bound by duty finally letting her passions free when she is ordered by her husband to take a lover.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062017352
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/25/2011
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 6.78(w) x 4.22(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Katy Madison has always loved stories and books. As a child she was always lugging a book around. In third grade, she fell in love with the romance genre when her mother fed her voracious appetite for books with a romance novel. Sidetracked by real life, a husband, kids, and a career at The Kansas City Star, where she authored a few incident reports and a system manual, she returned to her love of the genre with her gothic romance, Tainted by Temptation.

Katy makes her home on a tree-lined street in Kansas City, Missouri, and thinks there is nothing better than curling up in front of the fireplace with a good book while a storm rages outside.

What People are Saying About This

Anna Campbell

A firecracker of a book! TAINTED BY TEMPTATION grabs the classic gothic romance by the scruff of the neck, gives it a good shake and sets it ablaze to heat up bookshelves everywhere.

Carla Cassidy

Katy Madison’s Tainted By Temptation has it all - richly drawn characters, a tightly woven plot and a breathless romance set against a backdrop of gothic elements.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

All about Seduction 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
RomancingRakes More than 1 year ago
***original extended review posted at Romancing Rakes*** Basically, Caroline has been married for 15 years to Mr. Broadhurst and never once, have they conceived a child. Okay, you're thinking, maybe she's infertile. Nope, Mr. Broadhurst has been married three times and has never once gotten any of his past wives with child. That tells you it's his problem and to top it off, there's suspicion as to what happened to those past wives due to the fact no children were brought forth. He wants her to have a baby with one of her brother's friends but she can't bring herself to seduce any of them. Cue in the dashing Jack Applegate, hurt Mill Worker. They've both been secretly attracted to each other for a while but knew their social differences would not allow the attraction to become more. Denial, thy names are Jack and Caroline. As she nurses him back to health, they both must come to terms with their feelings while her husband keeps pushing her to conceive with one of the men. I'm glad I gave this book a chance. In a time of arranged marriages, gaps in social class and money and bloodlines are a social currency, Jack and Caroline are able to overcome those obstacles towards a HEA. At times, the continuous mention of Caroline not wanting to seduce any of the men made me want to tear my hair out and scream 'Do something about it! Find some dirt on your horrible husband!' As for the social class difference between Caroline and Jack and the constant need to point that out and use it as a barrier, was only delaying their happily ever after. I did feel bad when Broadhurst kicked the bucket and waited for lightning to strike after wishing throughout the book. Okay, but only a little. I will read another book by Ms. Madison. ***review book provided by NetGalley***
harstan More than 1 year ago
Caroline Broadhurst has been married for fifteen years to an abusive mill owner who paid her family for her. Now with no heir and learning he is sterile, Broadhurst orders his wife to bed an aristocratic friend of her brother. She is appalled as her husband parades the who's who of decadence passed her. However, Carline is an obedient wife so will do what is demanded of her even if she loathes sleeping with any of these rakes or for that matter her odious mate. Caroline is attracted to mill engineer Jack Applegate who has loved her from afar since he first saw his employer's wife. When Jack is injured at the mill, Caroline takes him to her manor house to heal. He learns of Broadhurst's insidious scheme and volunteers to be the sire of her offspring. However, her husband learns of her duplicity with an unacceptable middle class worker so plots revenge as the cuckold spouse. With a nod to Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, readers will enjoy this entertaining Regency romance. The exciting story line is character driven mostly by Caroline who is refreshing with her pathetic inability to break out of what society and her family expects of a woman. Although over the top of the Tower especially once Jack is injured, fans will enjoy this engaging nineteenth century version of the Miller's Tale. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommend.
tarenn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
ALL ABOUT SEDUCTION by Katy Madison is an interesting historical romance set in Regency England. This is an interesting and tender story of love,sacrifice,betrayal,secrets,sweet sensuality,danger,and murder. It is the story of Caroline Broadhurst and Jack Appleton. Caroline married to an much older weathy man,fourty years her senior,is now told by her husband after fifteen years of marriage and no children, she MUST seduce a suitable gentleman.become with child,in order to gain anything at his death. Jake Appleton,a mill worker,who has dreams of becoming a self made man,this hurt at work,pretending a child. This is story of Jack and Caroline,their growing attraction to each other,their desire,and how Mr. Broadhurst's is not only a mean spirited man,but also has a dark secret in his past that will come to life. A wonderful story of a tender love,passion,how violent secrets come to life and the wonderful story of love and sacrifice. A must read for any historical romance readers who enjoys a twist in the story. Received for review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at Avon,an imprint of Harper Collins and My Book Addiction Reviews.
debr56 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This ebook was courtesy of NetGalley and Harper Collins Publishers.She had never known passion like this¿Caroline Broadhurst is about to take a lover¿ at her husband¿s command. For fifteen years, Caroline has done everything her much older husband has desired¿except provide an heir. Now he has given her an ultimatum: seduce a suitable gentleman and bear a son. Caroline would never think of bowing to such a shameful order, but then she meets Jack Applegate.Jack has longed for the beautiful, untouchable Caroline for years, but the chasm between them was too wide to ever dream of crossing. Now, fate and passion have thrown them together, but the potential scandal threatens to smother their love. And when a violent secret comes to light, only a terrible sacrifice will prevent the flame of their affection from being snuffed out forever . . .While the characterizations were good in this book, I didn't like the plot. I read romance to escape for a few hours and this book just left me uptight. Caroline had endured too much and that her family, her husband and her brother would treat her this way just left me cold. Too much description of bad love scenes was depressing.
Stacey42 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Caroline Broadhurst¿s very elderly husband, a mill owner, is desperate for a son, so desperate that he orders his wife to have an affair & get pregnant. He connives with her brother to have half a dozen suitable men brought to the house under the guise of a house party so she can get on with it.She naturally is horrified, but he threatens to leave her nothing in his will if she doesn¿t. She is attracted to Jack, an employee in the mill, but the mill owner¿s wife can¿t even speak to a mill worker. It¿s just not done. Until Jack almost loses his foot in an accident and she has him taken to the house to recover. Caroline tries to do as her husband asks but things keep going wrong for her with the male guests and what she really wants is to take Jack as her lover. Along the way she discovers there is a dark secret in her husband¿s past, one that could be repeated in the present & she must decide just what she really wants.Overall a good story but a little far fetched, the husband too suddenly evil for me; they¿d been married 15 years & suddenly he¿s this menacing figure?* disclaimer ¿ I was given this book free from NetGalley in return for this review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DebR97 More than 1 year ago
This ebook was courtesy of NetGalley and Harper Collins Publishers. She had never known passion like this. Caroline Broadhurst is about to take a lover- at her husband's command. For fifteen years, Caroline has done everything her much older husband has desired-except provide an heir. Now he has given her an ultimatum: seduce a suitable gentleman and bear a son. Caroline would never think of bowing to such a shameful order, but then she meets Jack Applegate. Jack has longed for the beautiful, untouchable Caroline for years, but the chasm between them was too wide to ever dream of crossing. Now, fate and passion have thrown them together, but the potential scandal threatens to smother their love. And when a violent secret comes to light, only a terrible sacrifice will prevent the flame of their affection from being snuffed out forever . . . While the characterizations were good in this book, I didn't like the plot. I read romance to escape for a few hours and this book just left me uptight. Caroline had endured too much and that her family, her husband and her brother would treat her this way just left me cold. Too much description of bad love scenes was depressing.