All that Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

All that Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

by Sue Black DBE, FRSE

Hardcover

$25.19 $27.99 Save 10% Current price is $25.19, Original price is $27.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Overview

Book of the Year, 2018 Saltire Literary Awards
A CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Month

For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality.


Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all.

Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliché, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one’s death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature.

Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781948924276
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 03/05/2019
Pages: 360
Sales rank: 255,582
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Sue Black, DBE, FRSE, was the longtime director of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification, the Leverhulme Research Centre for Forensic Science at the University of Dundee and is now pro-vice chancellor at Lancaster University. Her forensic expertise has been crucial to solving high-profile criminal cases. In 1999, she was the lead anthropologist for the British Forensics Team's work in the war crimes investigations in Kosovo and she worked in Thailand after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She makes regular appearances on radio and television. She divides her time between Aberdeen and Lancaster.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 Silent teachers 13

2 Our cells and ourselves 31

3 Death in the family 61

4 Death up close and personal 77

5 Ashes to ashes 95

6 Dem bones 117

7 Not forgotten 141

8 Invenerunt corpus - body found! 167

9 The body mutilated 197

10 Kosovo 225

11 When disaster strikes 253

12 Fate, fear and phobias 277

13 An ideal solution 307

Epilogue 327

The man from Balmore 341

Acknowledgements 343

Index 347

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews