All True Lovers

All True Lovers

by Sarah Aldridge

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


All True Lovers by Sarah Aldridge

This is a sensual, sensitive feast about two teenage women, growing up during the Great Depression and fighting their way out of the trials they inherit. It's a love story for and about all true lovers.
The fourth of the 14 classic novels by lesbian writer Sara Aldridge. Originally written in 1978 and re-issued several times since then, the trade paperback is still in print. This is its first release as an e-book.

All True Lovers is one of Aldridge's signature historical novels. This time the setting is 1930’s Washington, DC,in the midst of the great depression, where teenagers Laura and Isabel meet and find that their love for each other helps them discover their true identity. This book is an eye-witness to the politics and prejudice of the times - From love blossoming under the poverty thrust upon unsuspecting Americans to the rise of Hitler across the sea and the consequences society heaps on women in love with each other.

From the Publisher: Following the recent death of writer/publisher Anyda Marchant (pen name, Sarah Aldridge), at age 95, A&M Books of Rehoboth Beach is making available all 14 of the classic and groundbreaking Sarah Aldridge novels. Written between 1974 and 2003, the novels represent a melding of history, feminism and lesbian romance. The first novel was published by the fledgling Naiad Press, which went on to become the largest and most successful lesbian/feminist publisher in the country. Marchant was Naiad president from its founding until 1995.
In 1995, Marchant and Muriel Crawford, (her partner of more than half a century) withdrew from Naiad and founded A&M Books of Rehoboth Beach, DE. The last Sarah Aldridge book, O, Mistress Mine, was written and published when the author was 92 years young. A&M Books, continuing under the leadership of writer Fay Jacobs (Author of For Frying Out Loud- Rehoboth Beach Diaries, set to carry out the legacy begun by Marchant and Crawford - making all of the Sarah Aldridge titles available once again and continuing to give women writers a voice.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012878533
Publisher: A&M Books
Publication date: 05/31/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 939,514
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Anyda Marchant, who wrote under the pen name Sarah Aldridge was a retired attorney, novelist and publisher. She wrote 14 novels and was a founder of the legendary feminist publishing imprint Naiad Press in 1972 and A&M Books in 1995.
As a law student, she served for a year as assistant to women’s rights pioneer Alice Paul, who was then doing the first research for an equal rights amendment. She had a long and distinguished legal career before turning to writing and publishing after her retirement.

In 1972 Marchant and her life partner Muriel Crawford founded the Naiad Press as a vehicle for publishing Marchant's first novel, The Latecomer, written under the pen name Sarah Aldridge. From there, Naiad became an avenue for the publication of other feminist and lesbian literature. In 1974 Naiad Press was formally incorporated in Delaware . Marchant served as Naiad president from its inception until the mid-1990’s. Naiad published eleven Sarah Aldridge novels and grew to be a powerhouse in feminist publishing. In 1995 Marchant and Crawford withdrew from Naiad, and began their own publishing company, A&M Books in Rehoboth Beach . A&M published the last three Sarah Aldridge novels along with the books As I Lay Frying, a Rehoboth Beach Memoir and Fried & True by author Fay Jacobs. Passionate about supporting feminist writers, Marchant continued her publishing and mentoring activities until her 2005 death.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews