Alma del Sur: Music of South America

Alma del Sur: Music of South America


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Alma del Sur: Music of South America

Though more than half a dozen artists from various regions and countries contributed to this compilation, all of their styles mesh together and complement each other extremely well. The album celebrates the music of South America. Though all the tracks are original, most of them sound as ancient as the secluded mountaintops and jungles that housed their composers' ancestors 1,000 years ago. In contrast, tracks such as "New Amazon" lend a modern, jazzy touch. Argentine composer Bernardo Rubaja contributes four tracks, including the lilting, infectious "The Hill of Seven Colors" (track one). Composer Junior Homrich, best-known for scoring The Emerald Forest, offers up two jazz-influenced paeans to the Brazilian rainforest. Other contributors include Bolivian quartet Rumillajta, Brazilian guitarist Nando Lauria, and pioneering world music group Ancient Future. As many as a dozen traditional instruments are used in each of the album's songs. In addition to well-known instruments such as the congas and the marimba, the contributors to Alma del Sur evince mastery of the berimbau, the Paraguayan harp, and many other instruments that are largely unknown in North America. Though the instrumentation of most tracks is very complex, the melodies and themes are simple and infectious. They are evocative of dirt roads, secluded streams, and tiny village squares in the hidden reaches of Venezuela and Peru. The composers have succeeded in using modern recording technology to create authentic traditional music.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/1992
Label: Narada
UPC: 0083616390826
catalogNumber: 63908

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ancient Future   Track Performer
Stephanie Bennett   Harp
Bernardo Rubaja   Bass,Flute,Guitar,Percussion,Strings,Accordion,English Horn,Keyboards,Marimbas,Multi Instruments,Bells,Fretless Bass Guitar,Track Performer
Carlos Guedes   Harp,Tambourine,Track Performer,Electric Harp
Rique Pantoja   Keyboards
Roberto Perera   Harp,Track Performer,Electric Harp
Ian Dogole   Conga,Cymbals,Drums,Bass Drums,Claves,Caxixi
Randy Tico   Bass,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Juan Areco   Synthesizer Guitar
Anders Bostrom   Flute
Juan Carlos Cordero   Guitar
Russ Gold   Percussion,Drums
Cindy Harding   Vocals
Libby Harding   Vocals
Mark Lamson   Drums,Tambourine,Tamborim,Bata Drums
Juan Jorge Laura   Charango
Nando Lauria   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Track Performer
Julio Leduzma   Guitar,Percussion
Julia Jimmy Ledezma   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Rhythm Guitar
Matthew Montfort   Synthesizer,Guitar,Synthesizer Guitar,Charango,Guitar (Nylon String)
Jeff Narell   Steel Drums
Abel Pabon   Piano,Keyboards
Argenis Pena   Drums,Vocals
Miguel Pessoa   Piano,Keyboards
Allan Phillips   Piano,Conga,Drums,Keyboards,Tambourine,Tamborim,Bata Drums
Miguel Angel Puña   Bombo,Zamponas
Michael Rivard   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Michael Shapiro   Percussion,Drums,Bata,Shaker,Cuerda,Wood Box
Jamshied Sharifi   Keyboards
Brett Simons   Bass
Rafael Solano   Percussion
Robert Thomas   Drums
Nestor Tintaya   Zamponas
Tonico Vanalli   Drums
Adrian Villanueva   Antara,Quenacho
Josef Woodward   Electric Guitar
Dave Zeiher   Electric Guitar
Robert Thomas   Hand Drums
Gonzalo Vargas   Pipe,Pan Pipes
Kevin Delgado   Drums,Tambourine,Tamborim,Bata Drums
Cheo Hurtado   cuatro
David Pena   Double Bass
Cristobal Soto   Mandolin
Luis Julio Toro   Flute
Junior "Junno" Homrich   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Tabla,Vocals,Balafon,Berimbau,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Bernardo Rubaja   Arranger,Producer
Carlos Guedes   Arranger,Producer
Roberto Perera   Producer
Randy Tico   Producer
Dominic Camardella   Engineer
Mike Couzzi   Engineer
Bruce Kaphan   Producer,Engineer
Nando Lauria   Arranger,Producer
Eric Lindert   Executive Producer
Lagsbartt Mario   Engineer
Matthew Montfort   Producer
Miguel Pessoa   Producer
Max Rose   Engineer
Gustavo Gonzalez   Engineer
Gurrufio   Producer
Rumillajta   Arranger,Producer
Michael Sullivan   Executive Producer
Loren McIntyre   Liner Notes
Lance Hammer   Production Support
Junior "Junno" Homrich   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews