Aloha, Lady Blue: A Mystery

Aloha, Lady Blue: A Mystery

by Charley Memminger
4.8 6

Hardcover

$39.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, October 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Aloha, Lady Blue: A Mystery by Charley Memminger

This riveting new mystery series pays loving homage to legendary author John D. MacDonald. Stryker McBride is a former crime reporter who lives on a hugely expensive houseboat, "the Travis McGee." When Stryker receives an unexpected SOS call from a sultry beauty queen, he agrees to look into the suspicious death of the woman's grandfather. As Stryker investigates, he encounters a cast of characters as diverse as Hawaii itself, including Auntie Kealoha, a charming entertainer turned mobster, and her 400 pound right-hand man, a Chinese-Hawaiian named Tiny Maunakea. Soon, Stryker discovers a deadly secret buried deep in the heart of Hawaii that has consequences much larger than one old man's death.

Vivid and exhilarating, Aloha, Lady Blue transports you right to the heart of an island paradise populated with exotic women, glorious scenery, and whispered scandals. Memminger brings Hawaii to life so vividly that you can almost hear the pounding of the surf and catch the scent of plumeria on the breeze. Fans of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee series will be swept away by this delicious, action-packed tale.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250007780
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 01/22/2013
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,317,997
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

CHARLEY MEMMINGER is an award-winning humor columnist, screenwriter, and author who is based in Hawaii. A former crime and investigative reporter, Memminger's work has appeared nationally in magazines and newspapers. He was twice named the top humor columnist in the country by the National Society for Newspaper Columnists. He lives in the sleepy windward Oahu bay town of Kaneohe with his wife, cat, love birds, geckos, and other indigenous island wildlife.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Aloha, Lady Blue: A Mystery 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
TurboLink More than 1 year ago
Charley Memminger is a beloved former Honolulu Advertiser columnist whose “Honolulu Light” column was eagerly anticipated with each update. I was delighted to learn he’d published a new book “Aloha, Lady Blue,” different from former publications, more of a crime mystery. That venue is not my normal reading fare, but it was Charley Memminger who we’ve missed, so it was worth the effort to take a look. I was delighted to find both a well-developed storyline and his standard mastery of understated though hilarious, laugh out loud lines. In fact, it was my sister in Virginia that alerted me to this book being published. She listened to the audio version, and I am certain missed most of the little hidden Easter egg prose that he crafted. To say he crafted it is probably going too far, it’s really the way he expresses himself in general, and that’s what makes it so much fun. My sister also reported that the audio version’s reader murdered Hawaiian name pronunciation, so read the book, much moh bettah. There was one continuing characteristic that made this book gangbusters, besides a very well developed plotline with multiple side stories, and that’s Charley’s very accurate description of relevant Oahu multi-culture places and style, as well as faithfully and accurately naming restaurants and other things we know (was that product placement Charley?). When he’s disguised something to protect the guilty (or innocent), he only changed a couple letters in the name to be able to claim “no foul,” which isn’t hard to do with Hawaiian names. And in a salute to a former well known Hawaii-based detective TV series, Charley gave us Stryker McBride’s gods Kane and Lolo, who add a certain balance to it all. While I never much cared for detective mysteries, I hope Charley will publish more of the Stryker McBride series (well, it won’t be a series unless he does). And OBTW, Stryker gets his 10 minutes of fame to set the world right in the end. Men everywhere are cheering. Aloha.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok, Charley is my brother, but this story captured me. His humor was terrific. Very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was upset when Aloha, Lady Blue was finished. I was reading Memminger's book at the same time I was reading Anderson's The Drummer. Wow two winners. Lady Blue has fantastic characters. I loved the style. Great depth of the local culture. Bring on Memminger's next read.
Howard_Daniel More than 1 year ago
Two thumbs up – and five stars! Fans of Charley Memminger, Hawaii’s national-award-winning humor columnist (“Honolulu Lite”), will love his first novel, “Aloha, Lady Blue.” Although the intricately woven plot of this thriller will keep you turning the pages way past your bedtime through a series of bizarre and entertainingly crafted episodes, the author’s funny streak will keep you smiling too. The elderly Chinese victim of the crime that Memminger’s hero, Stryker McBride, is trying to solve is called Wai Lo Fat. McBride describes his “first meal of the day, which I had come to refer to as Honey Bunches of Budweiser because it sounded healthier than ‘swigging beer for breakfast.’” The appeal of the novel is deepened by its ample serious side: the insights it provides into the not-always-pretty history and delicious multi-ethnic culture of the Aloha State, as well as its look at the seamy side of paradise, something Memminger knows well thanks to his years as an investigative reporter (unparalleled training for a future humor columnist!) who had his share of up-close-and-personal encounters with some of the more notorious denizens of the Islands’ underworld. Two thumbs up for “Aloha, Lady Blue” – and if I had more thumbs, they’d be up too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago