by Salif Keita


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



An early-'90s album from the great Salif Keita. This one pulls out all the stops to appeal to a Western audience at some level. Keita's vocals are, as always, outstanding. On top of this, though, a slew of performers make appearances and/or help out on production. Former bandmate Kante Manfila provides the primary guitar work for the album and master keyboardist Joe Zawinul both plays keyboards throughout and provides the production work. Also, balafon master Keletegui Diabate provides some outstanding work where needed. To top this, both Carlos Santana and Wayne Shorter make appearances on their respective instruments within the structure of the album. As would be expected, then, the album sounds wonderful. Zawinul's production shies away from being overly glossy, but has enough doctoring to blend the sounds together in just the right way. As far as Keita albums are concerned, this is one of the best, and as far as Afro-pop is concerned, this is also one of the best. Anyone looking to break into Afro-pop should pick this album up, as it combines the work of a true vocal master with the work of a number of musicians (Western and African) of the highest caliber to create a seamless work on the whole.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/1991
Label: Mango
UPC: 0016253991026
catalogNumber: 539910
Rank: 98046

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Salif Keita   Primary Artist,Vocals
Wayne Shorter   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Tenor (Vocal)
Bill Summers   Percussion
Djanka Diabate   Vocals,Background Vocals
Kante Manfila   Guitar
Joe Zawinul   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Jeff Baillard   Guitar
Nayanka Bell   Vocals,Background Vocals
Gary Bias   Horn
Ray Brown   Horn
Assitan Dembele   Vocals,Background Vocals
Kélétigui Diabaté   Balafon
Souleymanne Doumbia   Percussion
Mamadou Doumbia   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Djene Doumbouya   Vocals,Background Vocals
Assitan Keita   Vocals,Background Vocals
Etienne Mbappe   Bass Guitar,6-string bass
Ron Mesa   Trumpet
Cheick Tidiane Seck   Keyboards
Paco Sery   Drums
Ivan Zawinul   Overdubs
Carlos Santana   Guitar
Reggie C. Young   Horn

Technical Credits

Salif Keita   Composer
Joe Zawinul   Arranger,Producer,Orchestration
Philippe Brun   Engineer
Cheick Tidiane Seck   Arranger
D.A. "Jumbo" Vanrenen   Producer,Executive Producer
Ivan Zawinul   Programming
Michel Lorentz   Programming
Vincent Theard   Programming
Phillippe Brun   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews