by Dan Deacon


$13.49 $13.99 Save 4% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.



Though he's made a name for himself based on his irreverent and impossibly enthusiastic electro-pop, Dan Deacon shows off the more thoughtful side of his hectic composition style on the thoughtfully orchestrated America. Rather than the non-stop, sweat-fueled party atmosphere found on Spiderman of the Rings, the album continues the experimentations Deacon started on Bromst, working more and more with live instruments and exploring emotions outside of "party." With a combination of electronic and orchestral elements, Deacon weaves together an album filled with hope and wistfulness, making America an altogether more subtle and nuanced effort than his previous work. While songs like "Guilford Avenue Bridge" and "Prettyboy" both evoke the beauty of the subtly shifting landscapes that inspired Deacon while he was on a cross-country train trip, the four-part "USA" suite is where the album really comes together. Over the course of its 20-minute running time, the sprawling suite takes Deacon's knack for layering to a new level, especially during the dizzying "USA III: Rail," where the orchestration is chopped up and layered on top of itself to create something intricate, playful, and most importantly, human. In contrast to the shuddering squelch of the synths that kick in at the beginning of "USA IV: Manifest," moments like these serve as a reminder that Deacon, and people as a whole, aren't as beholden to machines as we might think, and America's artful merging of the electronic and the acoustic shows that these tools we dedicate so much time and brain space to can also be used to create something free and emotionally invigorating.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/28/2012
Label: Domino
UPC: 0801390031922
catalogNumber: 319
Rank: 144687

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dan Deacon   Primary Artist,Vocals,electronics
Maureen Smith   Alto
Kevin O'Meara   Percussion
Mia Barcia-Colombo   Cello
Rich O'Meara   Percussion
William Cashion   Bass Guitar
Devlin Rice   Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar
Victor Ruch   Violin
Zoe Band   Alto
Sophia Mak   Violin
Sara Autrey   Flute
Rod Hamilton   Percussion
R.M. O'Brien   Tuba
Patrick McMinn   Trumpet
Nicole Papadatos   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
Julienne Gede   Soprano
Gerry Mak   Viola
Gabriel Caballero   Cello
Dennis P. Bowen   Percussion
Christian Hizon   Bass Trombone
Bijan Olia   Piano
Andrew Smith   French Horn
Ali Clendaniel   Soprano
Rob Sirois   Bassoon

Technical Credits

Dan Deacon   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Devlin Rice   Composer
Chester Endersby Gwazda   Producer,Engineer
Richard Endres   Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews