Amethyst (Chase Family Series, Book 1)

Amethyst (Chase Family Series, Book 1)

by Lauren Royal
4.4 294

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Amethyst (Chase Family Series, Book 1) by Lauren Royal

Book One of Lauren Royal's Jewel Trilogy—available at this special price for a limited time!

Nominated by Romantic Times for Best First Historical Romance!

"A captivating historical romance. Fans of Jo Beverley and Julia Quinn will love Lauren Royal!" —Kira Morgan, author of Seduced by Destiny

London, 1666
Amethyst Goldsmith makes dazzling jewelry, but her future isn’t nearly as bright as the pieces she creates. Though custom dictates she wed her father’s apprentice, her heart rebels against the match. In mere days Amy will be condemned to a stifling, loveless marriage, and she sees no way out—until the devastating fire of 1666 sweeps through London, and tragedy lands her in the arms of a dashing nobleman who knows a diamond in the rough when he sees it…

Colin Chase, the Earl of Greystone, has his future all figured out. He’s restoring his crumbling castle and estate to its former glory, and the key to its completion is his rich bride-to-be. But the Great Fire lays waste to his plans, saddling him with trouble—in the form of a lowly shopkeeper’s daughter with whom he’s most inconveniently falling in love...

Special Author's Cut Edition
A full-length novel of 120,000 words (about 480 book pages)
R-rated content: explicit love scenes
Originally published by Penguin Putnam (Signet)

This Author's Cut Edition e-book includes bonus content: a sneak preview of Lauren's next book, plus a link to an online contest where you can enter to win a piece of jewelry featured in the book.

REVIEWS

"A wonderful read! With a deft pen, Lauren Royal captures all the pageantry, excitement, and color that was Restoration England."
—Kathe Robin, Romantic Times

"This passionate story will keep you up long after bedtime, laughing one minute and crying the next.…[Amethyst will be] an instant favorite of every historical reader."
—Emerald, Love Romances.com

"Exciting characters, snappy dialogue, and a wonderful love story. Amethyst will capture your heart."
—Robin Peek, Under the Covers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013806306
Publisher: Novelty Books
Publication date: 12/25/2011
Series: Chase Family Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 1,366
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Lauren Royal decided to become a writer at the age of eight, after winning a "Why My Mother is the Greatest" essay contest and seeing her entry printed in a major newspaper. However, after college she spent fourteen years as the CEO of her own jewelry store chain before remembering her childhood dream and writing her first book. Since then, Lauren's books have been nominated for and won awards including the Golden Quill for Best Historical Romance, Romantic Times Best First Historical, the Award of Excellence, the Booksellers' Best Award, and Booklist's Top 10 Romance of the Year.

Lauren lives in Southern California with her husband, three children, and one constantly shedding cat. She still thinks her mother is the greatest.

Check out Lauren's blog, "Authors Are People, Too," where your favorite writers talk about everything but writing.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Amethyst 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 294 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This really is a very well told story and quite enjoyable! I am a bit confused when reading previous reviews.... several people referred to how long this book was, (900 pages). I'm reading on a nook, my page is about the same as most paperbacks and I only have a little over 400 pages and less than 390 are actually used for the story itself. I would have been terribly dissapointed had I read those reviews first! If you have a problem with taking the Lords name in vain, steer clear! There are enough cuss words available for that not to be neccesary! It is offensive to a lot of people!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story and sooo worth the money. Actually its a bargain because its almost 900 pages (and not the kind where is jumps alot of pages each chapter). Great read and now im off to start book 2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved all three & wish i would have seen the box set before purchasing all three seperately. I definately recommend the Jewel series, so buy the box set!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is well told, and the premise isnt one you find in a lot of romance novels (lord and commoner). Before this story I had never read anything about Restoration England, it sounds scandalous. I will definitely get the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed every page. Love books from this time period. I will definitely be reading the rest in this trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the pace of this book and the way it flowed the characters were fun to follow and made you want to follow them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent four book series love story. Could'nt help but think how much my mother would enjoy this "thick book". Because she wanted me and daddy to get our moneies worth out of the book and enjoy them also.
JLLo More than 1 year ago
Great Read.  Awesome characters, very well written.  400 Nook pages. I loved it, a common merchant and a lord.  History was great and woven into the story very well along with tragedy, love, humor, and suspense.  Very well done. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 380 page well-written free romamce book of a English jewelry/goldsmith and her attraction to a handsome lord weeks before her contracted marriage. The scene is set with the great London fire during the beginning of King Charles' reign and the ending of Cromwell's 11 year Reformation. Family, joy, angst, romance, drama, jealousy, daring rescues, contention, explicit sex scenes, romance, and drama. An excerpt for next in series imcluded.
widoRose More than 1 year ago
Very well written novel that leaves one wanting more! This is Book 1 of the Chase Family Series, so more is on the way. The only "con" was the author's use of profanity sprinkled through the story, which was unnecessary and detracted from my enjoyment of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could.t rrad fast enough. I took myook every where i went.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love love historical romance and this author captivates your heart strings. An easy flow to read which makes you continue to turn the page,
Nanaliz More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd of the Chase Family series books that I have read - once again Ms Royal has great characters in her books and describes them in a way the keeps the reader wanting to read to the end - I have the Nook App on my IPAD and styed up very late to finish this great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once i started this book i could not put it down. There were times when I wanted to scream and times when I wanted to cried. Very well written and I look forward to reading more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Colin and Amy's story was very entertaining. Amy from a jewelery making background and Colin an Aristocrat.. Their lives normally would not be intertwined. But a casual meeting and a London fire brought them together. The attraction to each other was powerful. The author's talent is amazing bringing these people and also their families to life in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I personally like how the author took the great fire of London and the pleague pendemic to created an cute Romantic fiction out of it, while keeping it realistic and dramatic. Its a bit predictable but, most romances are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny, and the characters are relatable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an absolute delight to read. I very much recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great i really enjoyed this book
Chastel More than 1 year ago
Excellent author... recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read the rest of the trilogy. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this one, and just purchased the 2nd in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very nice story and worth the money for 400 pages. I really liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good and entertaining
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and great plot twists.  Enjoyed the author's writing style, and the book is not a short story. Hard to believe that this book was free.