Amish Values for Your Family: What We Can Learn from the Simple Life

Amish Values for Your Family: What We Can Learn from the Simple Life

by Suzanne Woods Fisher

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $12.99 Save 15% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 15%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


For readers who long for strong families that know how to truly enjoy life together, there is much to learn from the Amish. Values like community, forgiveness, simple living, obedience, and more can be your family legacy--without selling your car, changing your wardrobe, or moving out to farm country.

In Amish Values for Your Family, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher shows how you can adopt the wisdom of the Amish when it comes to family matters. In this inspiring and practical book readers will find charming true stories interlaced with solid, biblical advice about parenting, marriage, and all aspects of family life. As readers get an intimate glimpse into the everyday lives of real Amish families, they will learn to prioritize what's truly important, simplify decision-making, slow down as a family, safeguard time together, and let go when the time comes.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441232632
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/01/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 709,060
File size: 782 KB

About the Author

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, The Calling, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of an Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner for The Search, a Carol Award finalist for The Choice, and a Christy Award finalist for The Waiting. She is also a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. Learn more at and connect with Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.
Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Phoebe's Light, Minding the Light, and The Light Before Day, as well as the Amish Beginnings, The Bishop's Family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series. She is also the author of several nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Facebook @SuzanneWoodsFisherAuthor and Twitter @suzannewfisher.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments 9

Introduction: The Disappearing Childhood 11

Section 1 Children Are Loved but Not Adored 15

The Rabbit Hutch 19

The Mud Hole 22

Workshop Raising 26

Family Vacations 30

Too Much Money 34

Christmas Day 38

Bill Coleman and a Quilt 41

Mothers-in-Law 46

The Christmas Bird Count 50

Section 2 Great Expectations 55

August Pies 58

Laundry Day 61

How to make a Marriage Last 65

A Teacher's Viewpoint 69

Snow Day! 73

Little Boys and Eggs 77

The Do-Over Boys 80

The Girdle 84

Amish in the City 87

Read, Read, Read 92

Interlude: A Year in an Amish Family 97

Section 3 Daily Bread 103

God doesn't Make Mistakes 106

Gas Thieves 110

Sitting on the Front Bench 113

Calvin and Goliath 117

Widow Maker 120

Northern Lights 123

A Rare Bird 127

Seventy Times Seven 131

The Miracle of the Neighbor 136

Section 4 Letting Go 141

Bear! 144

Chain Saws and Worries 147

Pastimes 150

A Dog's Life 153

Chuck and Henry and Two Eagles 157

Rumspringa 161

Singing to Cora 165

Wedding Season 168

An Early Good-bye 173

A Circle of Life 177

Epilogue: An Evening of Trivial Pursuit with the Amish 181

Recommended Reading 185

Notes 187

Customer Reviews