This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Among the Fallen

Among the Fallen

by Virginia Frances Schwartz

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on October 8, 2019

Overview

Sixteen-year-old Orpha is imprisoned for crimes she did not commit, and harboring a terrible secret about her abuser, but an unusual invitation from Charles Dickens to live in a home for fallen women offers hope.

From the infamous Tothill prison, Orpha is haunted by recurring flashbacks of sexual abuse, neglect, exploitation, and the horrors of a Victorian workhouse, but she refuses to be crushed. Her heartbreaking yet inspiring story tells of the resilience and courage needed to make a new life for herself against all odds with the support of the amazing women of Urania cottage and the help of famous author Charles Dickens.

Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Fever 1793, Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace, and Katherine Paterson's Lyddie will enjoy this riveting historical fiction title. Schwartz's powerful prose speaks to the terrible things Orpha has endured yet celebrates the emotional and intellectual powers of young women.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780823441020
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication date: 10/08/2019
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.67(w) x 8.55(h) x 1.03(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Virginia Frances Schwartz grew up in rural Ontario but now lives in Queens, New York, where she taught writing in the public schools before devoting her career to her own writing. She is best known for her novels for young adults which have been ALA Best Books for YAs, and winners of multiple Canadian awards including the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction, the Ontario Silver Birch Fiction Award, the Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award, and British Columbia Red Cedar Award. Her work includes Crossing to Freedom and If I Just Had Two Wings. She teaches a creative writing course at UCLA Online.