Amused to Death

Amused to Death

by Roger WatersRoger Waters


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Amused to Death is a solid album both conceptually and musically, showcasing Waters as an artist who, like his work with Pink Floyd, conveys his thoughts and ideals with pinpoint accuracy so that they are engraved within his audience's mind. With this album, Waters touches heavily on the dangers of capitalism, the insensitivity of the human race, the ridiculousness of war, and the onslaught of mindless entertainment that encroaches on mankind on a day-to-day basis. Fitting all these aspects into 14 songs is a task in itself, but accomplishing this task alongside music that is forceful and appealing is extremely difficult, and still Waters succeeds in doing this throughout the duration of the album. "The Ballad of Bill Hubbard" is a moving spoken intro from Alf Razzell, a former member of Britain's Royal Fusiliers. A stab at the false sense of security that lies within religion is dealt with on the powerful "What God Wants, Pt. 1," and the cowardice of the world's leaders is addressed in "The Bravery of Being Out of Range," one of the albums most blatant tracks. Guest guitarist Jeff Beck rises to the occasion on a number of songs here, and both Rita Coolidge and Don Henley fill in behind and beside Waters on a couple of the longer tunes. Ending with the title track, a song that sums up the whole of the album with it's subtle yet hard-hitting demeanor, Waters proves that he can still reveal his conceptual ideas with pristine clarity, only on Amused to Death, the music is as equally entertaining and effective. [Amused to Death was re-released on CD in 2015.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2015
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888430937826
catalogNumber: 309378
Rank: 23327

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roger Waters   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Jeff Beck   Guitar
Rita Coolidge   Vocals
Don Henley   Vocals
Michael Kamen   Conductor
John Patitucci   Electric Bass,Upright Bass
Andy Fairweather Low   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,12-string Guitar
Geoff Whitehorn   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Marv Albert   Keyboards
P.P. Arnold   Vocals
Kenneth Bowen   Conductor
Graham Broad   Percussion,Drums
John "Rabbit" Bundrick   Hammond Organ
Doreen Chanter   Background Vocals
Luis Conte   Percussion
N'Dea Davenport   Background Vocals
John Dupree   Conductor
Denny Fongheiser   Drums
Bruce Gaitsch   Acoustic Guitar
Jim Haas   Background Vocals
Natalie Jackson   Background Vocals
Jon Joyce   Background Vocals
Katie Kissoon   Background Vocals
Stan Laurel   Background Vocals
Jessica Leonard   screams
Jordan Leonard   screams
Patrick Leonard   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Steve Lukather   Guitar
David Paich   Hammond Organ
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
John Pierce   Bass
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Alf Razzell   Vocals
Steve Sidwell   Cornet
Randy Jackson   Bass
James Johnson   Bass
Lynne Fiddmont-Linsey   Background Vocals
Rick Difonso   Guitar

Technical Credits

Roger Waters   Composer,Producer
Michael Kamen   Arranger
Jerry Jordan   Engineer
Haydn Bendall   Engineer
John Dupree   String Arrangements
Nick Griffiths   Producer
Patrick Leonard   Producer,Choir Arrangement,Percussion Programming
Stephen McLaughlan   Engineer
Joel Plante   Engineer
Mark Fenwick   Management
Kate Watkins   Management

Customer Reviews